You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How do you get people to join Hive and stick with it?

in Reveriolast year (edited)

I agree with you that the growth is very slow, both form the platform as from one's account. I'm here just for over 1 year, trying everything to get this working and unfortunately my conclusion is that if I don't put a lot of money in here or (and?) I don't get people with a lot of HP to curate my posts hte return is extremely small. If I put an hour or more to write this post for example and than after that it's worth 5 USD in the end that's simply not worth my time. Certainly when I consider that 3,33 USD would be from a boost which I'm "paying" and I'd be promoting the post for a whole week, which would cost me another 500 Ecency points... You'll tell me to be here in the first place for the fun and the interaction, but as a dad, athlete and full time employee I'm interacting all the time already...

Sort:  

I'm not sure Actifit is big enough to earn you much. If you just write one line on an activity then will people consider that to be worth much? Nothing wrong with your beer post, but how many saw it? You don't have many followers. I was really active from the start, so people got to know me and I built from nothing. I have put in a lot of time, but it's fun. Making it fun for yourself is vital especially if the rewards are low. I use Ecency on my phone, but I don't boost my own posts. I need to use up some points boosting other people.

I just don't have a simple route to success on Hive. I did have an advantage by getting in early, but I have put in the work.

!BEER

Thanks for your feedback and help but... I try to post more than "one line" on my actifit posts, and I try to add one or more pictures as well, which is not so easy, or I should be taking pictures all the time. Apart from that I don't expect to earn or to be appreciated from the few lines on Actifit (because of the small posts, a lot of people trying to make easy money from it, hence the small account AND because I'm aware that the big accounts - people that are in here from the beginning - are not here and don't appreciate it. On the other hand, i try to motivate people to continue and give tips for their training commenting on their trainings where I can.

How many saw my Beer post? Well I can't do much more than:

  1. Posting it in a quite dedicated an visited community
  2. referring to it when I can, trying not to spam ;-)
  3. Promote the post for the full 7 days
  4. interact with people in the #Beer Community, and with people in general
  5. thank and comment back to people who comment my post and/or follow me
  6. Trying to be consistent

If all of this brings me a value of 1,55 USD till now (+ seeing my post not even boosted by spending my own ecency points), I think it's not strange that I start to loose faith and I understand that people hook off earlier from Hive as well...

I do say that Hive is not always 'fair'. I've had someone else complaining that he is active, but doesn't get much engagement or rewards. I just checked and you have done more comments in a year than he has in much longer. Getting in early has given me an advantage. I have also been to 3 international meetups and lots of UK ones. That does get noticed, but it's not viable for everyone. Others have invested lots of money and get good votes that may be related to that. You are competing with possibly thousands of other people for votes now. Mind you, I made zero on a lot of my early posts whilst others made thousands as the algorithm was different then.

We each have to decide what is right for us. I want to see everyone having a chance to earn on Hive, but if it can be as fun as other platforms where they make nothing then maybe they will still use it despite low rewards. As I said, I don't have all the answers.

I stopped with all other platforms to dedicate more time to things that would bring me something (intellectually, financially or in respect to my health. I noticed that I haven't been posting anything on Facebook for about a year (I was posting there to keep some of my best "memory" pictures there and enjoyed the same day in the year.... over theer) and I stopped with instagram, because, just like on Facebook I stay there too long for doing nothing...!LUV

I can get obsessed with things and Steem/Hive has been the main one for a while. I do other things such as music and running too of course. Life is short and you have to find the right balance.


Hey @svanbo, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.