Joining the Voluntary Fire Brigade

in Inner Blocks2 years ago

Hello lovely Hiveans !

IMG_1649250826998.png

A few weeks ago I was searching for a new sports activity for myself and this was actually not so easy 🤔 .. Since I broke my shoulder and was operated twice in a row, in 2020 and then in 2021, as the first doctor did an aweful job, I was not really moving at all. The couch became my new training spot and couching my everyday workout. It was super hard to regain motivation after that 🤣 .. After I grow relatively fit again, we relocated, I started a new job, and the baby came ^^ In theory, these are all great happenings, but it hindered me to get active again, besides some father & son trips and some relaxed walks outside of which of course are great too 😜

IMG_20220331_224734.jpg

But then I walked pass the local firefighter brigade and learned that they are still looking for volunteers. I wanted to join them on a fixed job-based fashion already back in Germany after my PhD, but the German folks are far to restrictive and would have never taken me, due to my shoulder problems and not having the golden German Sports Badge, which requires a lot of training effort in various disciplines. But the Swizz voluntary fire brigade is happy for every new recruit. So I asked them and found, that they would accept me 😁 .. Of Couse this is not a sports activity, but a great, valuable and rewarding activity in its own way 👨‍🚒

IMG_20220326_201309.jpg

As The last month's changed my life a lot, due to relocation, a new job and a new family member, I was not sure if I should really start such a big adventure so early in time, or should wait a bit longer. Actually, I still lack tons of sleep and my body and mind are super worn out. But then a sign raised in the middle of the night 🔥 .. a fire broke out just 100 meters up the mountain side from where I am living at 😱 .. Luckily, noone was harmed this night. Mostly trees and bushes burned down and only one house. But it was a little mansion and I am sure that the millionaires living there are having the proper funds to build up another version quicky after that. So I am not really pity for these moneybags 😜 .. Nevertheless, I watched it from down the mountain sides for a while 👀

IMG_20220331_224811.jpg

Unfortunately, my camera performs super bad at night and the pictures are all blurry and miss all the details, but this is not a photography post anyway. The firefighters worked there the whole night, for around 8 hours. The territory was hardly accessible, as it is a mountain, and most of the job was done by helicopters, which were throwing water down from above. I hope you can see it in the pictures. To he whole event was quite spectacular and I interpreted it as a sign to join the voluntary fire brigade 👨‍🚒🚒

IMG_20220331_225039.jpg

Now I already have my shelf, the equipment and a day in the future set when the recruitment training will start. I only need to pass a really basic fitness test and a respirator test, which I am quite confident to manage 😁 .. it seems that I found a new passion and I am looking forward to it really excited 🥳


All pictures were taken by myself, ©@adalger, with a Xiaomi Redmi Mobile Phone.


AmBan.jpgClickable Banner that redirects to the Community ^^

GIF-210420_030217.gifClickable Banner that redirects to the Community ^^

IMG_20200208_120948.png
Clickable Banner that redirects to the DNA Discord server, the home of the nature communities on Hive ^^

Terminal banner.pngClickable Banner that redirects to the Terminal Discord server ^^

Support @dna.org

    


If you want to know more about me, just look up my Introduceyourself post or follow my blog ^^

Learn more about @adalger here !


Best wishes,
Adalger

Sort:  

Wow das muss ein echter Schreck Moment gewesen sein so ein Feuer so nahe, Family und Baby da. Gut dass es schnell im Griff war.

Ja und freiwillige Feuerwehr ist bestimmt super um noch schneller dazu zu gehören und Freunde zu finden, coole Sache.
Hab Freunde in Bayern die das machen und es ist sowas wie ihre zweit Familie und Hobby geworden.
Viel Spaß damit :-)

Wir konnten die ganze Nacht nicht schlafen und haben ständing aus dem Fenster geschaut 😁 .. Aber zum Glück ist nichts passiert 🤞... Ich free mich auch schon total auf das was mir bald bevorsteht. Es hilft ungemein beim Einleben hier und soweit ich es jetzt beurteilen Kann, wird es ein richtig aufregendes Abenteuer 😁

wuoww!!!I hope everything goes well friend

Hehe, I hope so too 😉 .. I am already really excited 🥳

Good luck in your new endeavors as a voluntary fire brigade and be careful once you're accepted!👨‍🚒🧯🔥🚒

Thank you very much 🤗 .. I try my best to be as productive, but also careful ^^ .. Safety is written big in the fire brigade !

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Glad you are recovering from the surgery..
Goodluck as you engage in the test
You will pass