Spread the Vibes Challenge - Meaningful Music

in Inner Blocks3 years ago (edited)

Hey Beefriends, I got invited to join in the Spread the Vibes Challenge, begun by @edje, by @trucklife-family (thanks, fren!), so here is a little post about music that speaks to me. :)

The Challenge

The aim of the challenge is to share your thoughts and feelings about the music that has been shared with you. Then you share some music, also sharing why and what it means to you. It's good to share genres of music, that you think those you choose to share it with, will like.
The rules, which are not really rules but more guidelines are as follows :

untitled.gif

  • Your reaction to the music that was shared with you
  • Your music selection and related story
  • Your invites of other HIVE members
  • Link to the post you react to
  • Post tags has to include #spreadthevibes #music
  • Community - any community you like.

What was shared with me

@trucklife-family's first share was the album Seelie by CLANN.

OK, this, this was awesome. I loved this. Right up my alley. Great music to daydream/meditate/imagine to. The subject matter (the fae) is a passion of mine, as you may have guessed if you've been around my blog for a while (coughPagancough).
Morrigan doing magick.jpg
The Morrigan doll that I made

So, THANK YOU for sharing that with me, as I had never heard of that band before, Aishlinn! New music to get lost in for sure.

Their second share was a live performance of Vesna by DakhaBrakha, another group I had not encountered before! It starts off with these really cool bird calls as part of the music which was just so frikkin' neat. Once the singing starts, I love the combination of voices!

Music that Moves Me: Lyfjaberg by Wardruna

This right now is my favorite song. It's a song of healing, which is exactly where I am at right now in my life, and it really speaks to me. Every time it hits that part where the man and woman singers are singing together, I am uplifted. I meditate to this song a lot. I listen to it on repeat. I love it. :D

The English translation of the lyrics is (per the video):

"Healing-mountain

Saddle your soul and let it ride
With blind eyes, you’ll surely find the way
Draw your breath in – let your thoughts fly
Let it out slowly – on winds you’ll bide

The spindle spins, the thoughts entwine revolving sight
The enchantment song lures the soul from its shape
Out through the door, through the cobweb-veil
Out borne on bare feet, a heavy burden

Out in your innermost, a steep trail ahead
High upon Healing-Peak, nine maidens await

At the first stop where paths cross, you pause
Leave clothes behind and all you own
Where you are heading, they’ll be of no use
The burden lightens, but heavy is the trail ahead

At the second stop where paths cross, you pause
Leave time behind, and weighty thoughts
Where you are headed, they’ll be of no use
The burden lightens, but heavy is the trail ahead

At the third stop where paths cross, you pause
Leave fears behind, let fall all masks
Where you are headed, they’ll be of no use
The burden lightens, but heavy is the trail ahead

Naked at the top, the mountain knows you
North waves an eagle-wing, the wind it draws
The shadow-women dance about you
They sing for you, chanting powerful runes

Wounds and sickness
Of marrow and blood
Of meat and bone
Of flesh and skin
into weather and wind
you fade
I summon you into the mountain blue
Where neither sun nor moonshine can reach you
I summon you into the forest where no one dwells
and out to the sea where no man rows
Deep beneath an earthbound stone
out of harm’s way
Run through the rivers
and roll with the ocean tides

Into weather and wind you fade
Neither sun nor moonshine can reach you
Sink in the sea where no man rows
Run through the rivers
and roll with the ocean tides

Healing-mountain stands for eternity
It comforts the sick and the sore
Each and every one who assails that rock
Will find their lifelong ailment cured

Leave it behind on Healing-Peak
Where the rivers and streams
dance northwards and down
That mountain mends all those who climb"

My Body Is A Cage by Peter Gabriel

Oh man, every time this one hits the instrumental (which sounds like it's the end of the song, but it's not, it's in the middle), I also feel goosebumps. It's a powerful moment in a song with great lyrics. One of those songs that I can really relate to the feelings expressed in it. I also meditate to this one frequently.

I invite @pavanjr, @traciyork, @anggreklestari, @neumannsalva, and @lauramica to join the challenge (if you want to, of course!). :)

Thanks for reading everyone, I hope you enjoyed the music! <3

bee good.jpg

Sort:  

The songs you chose are very good, I loved 'My Body Is A Cage' it's incredible how the rhythm made me fly, I had never heard it before, so it will be in my daily playlist. Thank you!

Thanks for the invitation, I'm going to try to do something for these days, I'm very interested in participating. Although I'm not promising anything, but I'll try. God, there are so many songs that I don't know which ones to choose!

Ha ha, that's a good problem to have though, right? So much good music, it's hard to narrow it down. :)

TY--ThoughtfulDailyPost.jpg

Never ever heard of Wardruna, but I must say: I'm impressed! I like this track you shared. Not a lyrics guy, so I listen to the instruments and the voices as instruments. That in itself can already count as 'healing', at least for my ears and brains :) In Spotify 'Lyfjaberg' is in the top 3 from this band. While writing this comment listening to the most played track 'Helvegen': Like that one as well! Same category if music. For sure a band I' ll, check out further.

The Peter Gabriel one is indeed powerful when the instruments are allowed to take over. Very much like an orchestra playing, and this is a song by a more or less pop-sing/songwriter kinda guy. Super cool track!

That in itself can already count as 'healing', at least for my ears and brains :)

Oh for sure, me too. :) Wardruna does a lot of Pagan folk music, everything I've heard by them I like. I actually first discovered them because some of their songs were in the show Vikings.

Hahahaha ok ok Vikings..... a series I still have to watch, seen maybe 1,5 episode all together, more like fragments of a few episodes.

It's better in the earlier seasons; it kind of goes off the rails eventually. 😂

Owwww, they have trains? 🤣

dad jokes.jpg
Har har har har! ;)