Mining Bitcoin in my Gaming PC

in HODL3 years ago


image.png
Source

Approximately 1 year ago I bought myself a Gaming PC loaded in specs and with an NVIDIA RTX 2070 Super which at that point in Time was a Top Tier Graphics Card. Although now we have RTX 3090 SUPER as the latest offering from NVIDIA that's another topic to talk about. Today I am here to talk about Mining specifically Mining using my Gaming Computer.

About a week ago a thought just clicked in my head which was the fact that my GPU is already 1 year old and Gaming in it is freaking awesome so why not try to mine Cryptocurrency with it when my PC sits Idle. So I quickly downloaded Mining Software but at that point, I encountered my first problem which was my Quick Heal Total Security Antivirus. My Antivirus was just not letting the MIning Software survive so I had two choices to make either I just leave the thought of Mining altogether or I disable my Antivirus for Mining. Just so you know disabling your Antivirus is never a good Idea I speak from my Past Experiences.

image.png

So I chose Option 3 which was a nifty feature called adding an exception. I did not know this but apparently, you can add an exception for certain Software to run on your PC and your Antivirus won't trouble that. Thanks to that my Antivirus was cool with me Mining Cryptocurrencies. Once you have installed the Mining Software it will benchmark algorithms for you which will take a lot of time depending on how many Algorithms you want to Benchmark.

image.png

As you can see it shows that Mining Ethereum is the most profitable right now so that is what I mine but the payment I receive is in Bitcoin. I am not yet sure if there is an option to switch which Crypto I get paid in but as of right now I am getting Bitcoin and I am perfectly ok with it. But later down the road, I will definitely look for more customizable options.

image.png

As for my payments, I have made just short of 10 USD in like 7 days considering I have only been mining occasionally. As for my profitability, you can see that if I run my PC 24/7 I can make approximately 4 USD per day or 120 USD per month which is a nice little change for me. Naturally, I am not going to sell any of the Crypto I Mine but I do have some future plans with it later on which I will talk about in a Future Post.

image.png

Sort:  

I use nicehash as well.
I also use these tools to tweak my 2070 rtx to get 43MHS:
https://www.msi.com/Landing/afterburner
https://www.techpowerup.com/download/techpowerup-throttlestop/
Watch your temperatures if you do tweak your cards.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more