NFTs and what's the next big thing...I wish I knew!

in HODL4 years ago

I recently wrote something like this in a Telegram group (https://t.me/WaxYourAssets), "Something tells me that the next big use-cases for NFTs likely haven't even yet been imagined." The more I've let it ferment in my brain, the more I think that I'm 100% correct.

Somewhere, there is a 19 year old young ne'er-do-well man or woman. He or she has a part time job at a restaurant and is screwing around in a community college and is about drop out to "pursue other things" (i.e., about to get kicked out for poor grades). He or she will come up with the next big thing in NFTs. He or she will develop a new and universal standard to criss-cross chains. Or, he or she will come up with a platform that makes NFTs stupid-stupid-simple for people who suffer from O-L-D syndrome. Or, maybe he or she will create a mechanism where the legacy financial system will become so, so incredibly legacy that we'll all look back and wonder, "Really? Seriously? We used to do it that way?" Does anyone still actually hold a physical, hold-in-your-hand, paper, stock certificate?

Plus, since crypto moves in dog years, Defi is so 2020. Have you heard of NFTfi?

Most likely, these scenarios are across-the-board too simplistic. They follow a traditional, trained, conventional line-of-thought. They are inside-the-box. The next big use-cases for NFTs likely haven't even yet been imagined. They'll be made by someone untraditional, untrained, and unconventional.

When the internet caught fire 'round about 1996 or 7 or 8, I felt like....there's something huge happening! But, I didn't know what exactly to do with it. When blockchain caught fire and I caught wind of it somewhere around 2011 or 13 or 15, I felt like...something huge is happening! But, I didn't know what exactly to do with it. Now, my gut is telling me the that same thing is happening here with NFTs. And, doggonit, I'm still not exactly sure what to do with it.

Oh, to be 19 again!

Somewhere, there is a 19 year old ne'er-do-well young man or woman. He or she has a part time job at a restaurant and is screwing around in a community college and is about to drop." He or she will...