HivEconomics for Beginners | Let Your Hive Work for You

in HODL4 years ago (edited)

Starting as a social platform, Hive evolved into something different; something better. Now, People use it for gaming, video sharing, posting, tokenizing, learning, and absolutely for earning.

Hive accounts for lots of services through which Hivers can acquire "assets". These assets can be Hive based tokens, NFTs, or Hive/Hive Power.

In this post, I'll be dealing with the aspect of Hive to earn Hive. In Hive ecosystem, your Hive assets work for you.

by Pixabay

How is it possible?

  • Curation Rewards + Curation Trails
  • Delegations / Leasing
  • Hive Staking Rewards

There are several ways to work your Hive for you. However, I will explain one of the ways that I find effective and nearly effortless.
Let's handle each of the items in the list.

1. Curation Rewards

Curation Rewards are paid to you after 7 days as a consequence of your contribution to a Hiver's post.
Let's examine my curation statistics by using HiveStats.io by @leofinance


Current Curation Annual Percentage Rate : Curation%20APR.PNG
If you keep voting in this way, you will get %x Hive through your curation. Not too bad but I have other ways to increase my APR. For example, there are curation trails to support minnows or certain communities.


And here is the example from my account. For 30 days, I get ~ 2.7 Hive.
Curation%20Rewards.PNG

Even though my Curation APR was higher than %10, I could not upvote high-quality content at an early time and my APR has decreased.

What have I done when the Curation APR decreased?
I started following a curation trail. When you log in Hive.vote, there are several curation trails that you can follow. Curation trails enable people to combine their power to upvote high-quality posts. Thanks to this trail, both content creators and the curators are paid better.
curation%20trails.PNG

I'm following the curation trail of the HODL community. However, you can follow @appreciator, @ocd, @curie, @cryptoctopus, and many others.

Personal experience: As the voting power keeps increasing, it's better both to follow a curation trail and to upvote manually so that you can use your voting power effectively.

2. Delegations / Leasing

In addition to the effective use of curation, delegating your hive power is also highly profitable. Several projects or accounts are sharing their curation rewards with the delegators according to the overall percentage.

Personal experience: I delegate to @tipu to get both liquid Hive and HBd. Besides, I delegate to @steembasicincome to get SBI units. SBI units work for you like Hive Power. When you have an adequate amount to get an upvote, your post is upvoted by SBI accounts.

One more note for delegation: You can delegate to a Hive based game or app to get their tokens. For example to get Bread for the game Holy Bread by or to get AFIT token from @actifit

So you should decide on that do you want your Hive to get you more Hive or Hive based token? If you are in Hive ecosystem, there are always more options 😌

3. Hive Staking Rewards

Hive Staking Rewards are paid to everyone who holds Hive Power in their accounts. Currently, it's 3.35%. To get this percentage, you do NOTHING at all. To be honest, it does not satisfy me considering the amounts coming from delegations and curation reward 😎
Dalz%20Hive%20Staking.PNG

As it's stated by @dalz, with quite a few adjustments, you can earn 15 - 20% in Hive ecosystem. By - Doing - Nothing.

To Recap

Let's compare Hive APR with;

Bitcoin: You are paid %5 at most by Nexo.
Ethereum: You are paid %5 at most by Nexo.
Tether: You are paid %3 by Compound; %8 / %10 at most by Nexo.
Ripple: You are paid %5 at most by Nexo.
Bitcoin Cash: You are paid %5 at most by Nexo.
EOS: You are paid %3 by Binance; %5 at most by Nexo.

Staking by Nexo

Staking by Compound.PNG

These coins are far away from the APR we get from Hive. One of our rivals is CRO by crypto.com. However, the amount of CRO to be locked to get a high percentage is too much. Moreover, you cannot unstake your assets for months though you are paid interest weekly.
CRO Staking by Crypto.com.PNG

In HivEconomics

✓ You are currently paid %3.35 for just hodling.
✓ You can earn curation rewards by upvoting.
✓ You can earn curation rewards by following curation trails upvoting new members to get what they deserve to have.
✓ You can delegate your Hive Power to projects to get Hive or Hive based tokens.

= You can get %15+ APR by just supporting the others, creating high-quality content, and enjoying.

Hive is no more a blogger. It's an ecosystem with its own economic model. Moreover to these benefits, you do not pay for crazy gas fees for any single transaction! Your money is yours. I hope Justin agrees with me 😂

Long story short, you do not need to worry about how to work your Hive for you. With basic adjustments, everything operates perfectly. Then you can play your games, share your posts and videos! I guess freedom is something like that 😌

Resource

Nexo APR
Compound APR
CRO APR
Pixabay

Thanks for allocating your time to read my post. If you want to add something more, please leave your comment. I'm open to your suggestions. Please enlighten me 😌

Regards,

Sort:  

This is an EXCELLENT post ... I have bumbled backwards into doing a lot of this, and let me tell the others: following curation trails and delegating to @tipu WORKS, and following the advice in this post will save a lot of time.

Now granted: I am a minnow about halfway toward dolphin status, I follow a bunch of trails, and I produce about 3-4 posts day in and day out. Several trails also follow me, and I keep them fed and happy. Even though today is a holiday in the United States, I have used peakd.com to schedule three posts. CONSISTENCY in producing is a big part in building up fast, having more voting power, and more HP to delegate.

Dear Deeann,
Thank you for your kind words. You enriched this post with your comment. I totally agree with you. Consistency is a key for success in all aspects of our lives and Hive is no exception 😌
Regards,

Thank you for this. I really am going to read this several times. Im still trying to understand all these things with hive. I just came here for the social aspect originally, lol.

I hope it will be beneficial for you 😌 If you need anything, please contact me.

Congratulations @idiosyncratic1! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 6000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Do you know what the story is on HBD? Does it earn interest if you put it in Savings?

Posted Using LeoFinance

HBD is backed By Hive. Both of them are working together and there is ratio between the pair. Currently we do not have HBD staking feature, mostly because the rationale behind the HBD is to enable healthy production, circulation and staking of Hive 😌

OK. Then the Savings option is likely to protect us from withdrawals in case somebody gets into our account, as it takes 3 days to get your money. I thought maybe there was interest paid out.

Posted Using LeoFinance

20‰ interest in HBD savings!

@idiosyncratic1

You can stake AWC and Band on Atomic Wallet, and you receive around 17%.

Yes, Atomic Wallet is getting popular and I forget about it 😌 Thanks for reminding :)

Hey man, sorry I missed this post, how informative, are you on twitter? I will love to retweet this as well!

Hey mate, I found your twitter account and started following you 😌 It's shame on us not having followed each other beforehand😅

Pls whats your username?

I guess you found me 😜😜

Noooooo help!!!!!!im dumb sometimes sorry

it’s “ @idiosyncratic1_ “ mate 😌

Thank you great post!!

You made me happy :) You're welcome 😌

Some free Hive-engine tokens for you:
!PIZZA !DHEDGE !LUV

1


This post has been selected for upvote from our token accounts by @atma.love! Based on your tags you received upvotes from the following account(s):

- @dhedge.bonus
- @dhedge.leo

@atma.love has 13 vote calls left today.

Hold 10 or more DHEDGE to unlock daily dividends and gain access to upvote rounds on your posts from @dhedge. Hold 100 or more DHEDGE to unlock thread votes. Calling in our curation accounts currently has a minimum holding requirement of 100 DHEDGE. The more DHEDGE you hold, the higher upvote you can call in. Buy DHEDGE on Tribaldex or earn some daily by joining one of our many delegation pools at app.dhedge.cc.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@atma.love(1/15) tipped @idiosyncratic1