I just turned the last of my STEEM in to HIVE

in HODL4 years ago

I had sold about 2/3 of my STEEM in to BTC so far since the big fork. The general idea was to change it to BTC and #HODL it for the long term. I hated to sell it at current prices, since it was worth so much more when I made my original investments.

But, over the course of time, I did sell some liquid STEEM in to other alt coins, and have a wide and varied portfolio thanks to my earnings over the years in STEEM.

At Peak, my 3200 STEEM was worth over 1 BTC. Now, my entire portfolio is just a fraction of that, waiting for the new Bull run. So the idea of going to BTC out of STEEM was to avoid being stuck in a token that had a lengthy power down keeping me from taking profit at the top of a bull run.

image.png

Image property of pbs.org

But the last couple of days of participating in Hive again has me a little more bullish on the community. I've gotten some good engagement from people in the comments on other posts, and a few people coming to check out the posts that I put up. Learning Communities is a helpful new tool in the bag.

So I decided to take the last 800 STEEM I had sitting over on @bittrex and sell them and use the proceeds to buy some HIVE. I did leave a little bit of HIVE on the exchange in case the price moons and I can take some profit on it, but I sent 650 HIVE back to the platform and powered it up.

image.png

Image probably property of Nintendo

So that is approximately a 20% increase in my Hive Power. I'll be looking to do a little more curating. Not that I have a huge upvote, but it's not nothing either.

Sort:  

Congratulations! I think there's definitely a lot of good things going on with hive right now. I'm pretty sure it will translate to moon eventually, but even if it doesn't, it will be a much better social network.

Those are really some encouraging thoughts about the Hive platform. Just gives a comfortable feeling about blogging and engaging more despite not knowing if ever the price moons or not. Thanks for sharing your words of wisdom.

I was so glad I could shuffle things before any thefts happened. Turned out to be a blessing in disguise because I could power up a lot of that STEEM into HP!