You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Been there done that, loved it all

in Reflections2 months ago

I've heard a few comedians with bits pretty similar to this... like people complaining that that their flight was delayed, without thinking too much that flight is absolutely incredible. For the vast majority of human history, travel like this was either impossible or pretty life-threatening... and I definitely have friends that do tend to focus on the negatives.

Personally, I've noticed that my friends that do focus on the negatives tend not to travel for the enlightenment of it, but are almost 'collecting' tourist attractions or experiences... to show or say they've done it. In these conversations I like to stir the pot a bit and ask what did they learn... and, ah, without being a total jerk, a lot of responses were underwhelming.

Sort:  

Great point (points really), about the travel-collectors. I see it all the time, people arriving somewhere taking a selfie and fucking off quick smart. It's like, yep, I'll get a few likes for that, let's move on.

I'm more about the experience, history, learning how things were done, why, about the place I'm at, the culture and people and so on. I've done some super-incredible things and have photos too, but they're to augment the memory, not for facebook likes.

without being a total jerk, a lot of responses were underwhelming.

Not jerkish...so many human interactions are underwhelming these days.

Thanks for your bonza comment, I hope you're well.

Me too! There have been so many trips where I've gotten so much more out of chatting with the taxi driver on the way to the thing, than the actual thing. I think I'm at the point where I'd honestly rather skip the tourist attraction altogether and find where the locals are hanging out.

Hahaha, you beaut, I haven't heard bonza in a while. I'm really good. Hope life is treating you amazingly (or at least above averagely).

Bloody taxi drivers...either a wealth of knowledge and good conversation or just plain terrible. Lol.

All good here mate, just flat out like a lizard drinking with work and life. I manage to find a few islands of calm and try to stay there for a while but it's often short-lived.

I figured bonza wasn't something you've probably heard for a while and I thought, crikey, I better say it lest his Australianess is too far diluted. Lol.