You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Speed and its impact

in Reflections3 months ago

Wow, that is pretty crazy. I wouldn't have guessed that speed limits are going down. They just seem to keep going up here. Plus no one drives the speed limit anyway. We have some remote back roads in Michigan that have been bumped up to 65 MPH. Those are two lane highways. Expressways with more lanes and a divider between them are up to 75 MPH in some areas. I was driving home going 78 MPH the other day and people were passing me that had to be going close to 90 MPH. I almost hate driving these days because people are in such a hurry, unpredictable, and distracted.

Sort:  

It works for revenue raising to lower the speed limits I guess, and that's what t the government are good at, revenue raising.

I don't mind limits as long as they are relevant and sensibly applied which is not always the case. I think there other issues that can be addressed to make things better on the roads, but they are not. I wonder where all the revenue from fines goes? Hmm...

With all the distracted driving these days, I honestly trust AI and robots to drive more than I do people! I think it would be safer. Politicians I would guess as far as the revenue goes!

There's an argument that leans that way for sure. I'm not a fan of AI generally, but it's one aspect where it may work out ok...until the robots take over completely.

Ain't that the truth!