You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Impression

in Reflections11 months ago

I am horrible at first impressions. I just can't help being who I am. I am also horrible at interviews. My wife and I met at work and she actually thought I was a jerk when she first met me. Good thing she gave me a chance. I haven't owned a suit in a couple of decades now. I'm glad I am kind of at the point in my life where stuff like this isn't as important. For those who aren't, this is some great info. I am glad to hear your meeting went well.

Sort:  

I think it's best to be yourself (each ourselves) as faking it will always leave a person at risk; the truth will show eventually.

Interviews, yep they suck, especially now via teams. One must look at the camera on the laptop so that the people on the other end get eye contact but that means I'm not seeing them properly and can miss body language triggers. Sucks.

It's funny about your wife, but lucky she saw the light and hired you...the rest is history. It's funny to think how often this might happen. I'm good friends with a person who hated me for three months. I arrived at the company in an executive role she had been promised and she hated me for it, and showed it. Three months later we were having lunch together every day and we see each other all the time now, as couples socially. Funny huh? Oh don't worry, I rarely let her forget it too...she takes it though, to a point, then tells me to fuck off g-dog. Lol.

Suits...yeah, I'd rather not wear them but sometimes I must. Back three years ago it was a daily thing, now I'm mostly more casual which I prefer.

I'm horrible at eye contact anyway. It just feels creepy to stare at someone. I've got so many things going on it is a miracle I function on a daily basis!

Juggling life's stuff can be a challenge, but it's life I guess and sometimes we do a good job, other times not. Also life.