You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: You Need to Calm Down

in Reflections4 months ago

I still have the occasional one that wakes me up but it's how I respond to it that has changed. At the point where I recognise the symptoms so well that I can lower my heart rate much quicker and get my breath back because I recognise the pattern the attacks take. Once you get rid of that uncertainty and fear you should be able to reduce that initial adrenaline flood, that's how it's worked for me anyway.

I've really found that doing yoga has helped in the past couple of weeks since I started being consistent with it. Getting rid of aches and pains in my body has helped my mind become much more calm and not misinterpret symptoms so easily. The breath control during tough uncomfortable poses has really helped with the sleep aspect as well as anything else I'm doing.

Worth pointing out that I'm a severe example of an anxiety disorder so it's almost easier for me to make gains. One thing I'd think about other than that is your caffeine intake as that's often an easy adjustment to make. Wish you the best of luck man! Being proactive and talking about it is a great idea for men though, well played!

Sort:  

Thanks, I appreciate the tips! My wife is a school social worker, so I know all about that deep belly breathing! I tried that last night, but I guess I didn't try hard enough. I need to work on that! I had caffeine the night before, but not last night, so that is kind of weird. My wife had wondered before if caffeine intake had something to do with it. Thanks again for sharing your experience!