You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Representation

in Reflections2 months ago (edited)

I like to portray myself as the guy you go to when you need to get things done. I like to be seen as positive, efficient, persuasive, and a consistent achiever.

I try to be my best self, but there have been times I've slipped to a degree. I can typically compartmentalize insults from customers, sarcastic remarks, etc., but one thing that pushes my "buttons" is technology failing to the point that it hinders my ability to perform. I had one such day where I was noticeably upset, to the point that one of the upper tier supervisors stopped me to ask if I was OK. In all of my years with the company, that was the first time I'd been so visibly frustrated and let my guard slip that the question was asked.

Later, I was brought in by upper management to work with IT to troubleshoot the problem. My inadvertent slip had made them realize that if someone at my level was being affected to that extent and I'm never noticeably unhappy or frustrated, then how bad are things with other employees? It ended up being a very refreshing thing to see upper management quickly mobilize help to address not only my issue, but what was likely affecting everyone else and everyone else was reluctant to say anything.

I think we all try to be our best selves. We can't be perfect, but we can pursue excellence, which is achievable. The more we strive for excellence, the closer we get, the fewer times we fail, and the less impactful and significant our failures become in the grand scheme of things.

Sort:  

I've applied a continual improvement ethos because perfection is unobtainable (it doesn't exist) and a pursuit of excellence is another form of continual improvement so it's a good wat to go I'd say.

We all slip, I'm had some humdingers over the years and look back now and laugh at a few, and cringe too, but all were learned from and that's what counts I think. It's led to me to a position of being the go-to guy also, I like that, and I mean professionally and no-professionally...it's all about how we represent because how we do so* dictates how people respond.

Thanks for commenting.