You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My home

in Reflections3 months ago

Home is a place where I feel comfortable and a place that I will never leave, I cannot leave for now. I live in the city of Malang, and this city is the most comfortable place for me to live. I don't think I've ever felt at home anywhere other than Malang. Why? Malang is a quiet place and not as noisy as big cities, the air is cool, and the people are nice. I've been to various places besides Malang and nothing can make me turn away from Malang. It's the best place to live. Other places may be more modern, have more entertainment and tourist attractions, etc but it still doesn't make me want to move. My husband is from out of town, specifically in Yogyakarta. He's originally from there and I often go there, but when he asked me to live there, I didn't want to. Yogyakarta is good but I don't feel comfortable there for several reasons, I feel foreign and I don't think I feel at home there.

That is the meaning of home in physical form. But in another form, for me home is when our hearts are comfortable and at peace with someone. Someone we can't live without. Of course this is talking about lovers, it could also be about our parents too and when we are far from "home", we will feel homesick and it will be very painful and torturing. In the past, my "home" was my father. and when my father passed away, I felt for a moment that I didn't have a "home" anymore. When I was close to my father, everything feels easy and comfortable, I never feel afraid of anything, I don't worry about anything. I miss him so much and it's so torturous. but God always helped and accompanied me so that I was replaced with another "home" and I am grateful for that.
@galenkp

There is a piece of song lyrics from Christina Perri entitled Arms and this is true:
You put your arms around me and I'm home...

Sort:  

I like your concept of home and agree with it...it's much more than a place, a building or location, it's about feelings, emotions, memories, happiness and so on. That can be found anywhere from a hut in the forest to a high rise building because it's actually found inside.

Yesss true. Thank you, Sir. You feel me :)