You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Representation

in Reflections2 months ago

Those work events are certainly a mixed bag of emotions. A lot of “this is lame” and “I would rather be out hiking” but we endure for the benefits later.

I’ve got a few things in mind for how I represented myself poorly and some stick in my mind quite sorely but those are the ones we learn from the most, as sad as it is to say. The thing we can try to focus on and make sure is that we don’t make the same mistakes twice if possible, to avoid future issues or embarrassments.

I think being able to string weeks and months into itself for being our best self is a great goal, it’s not easy but it’s the right thing to do for our family and loved ones.

Sort:  

I don't believe anyone has represented themselves well 100% of the time and anyone who says it, well, I'll happily call them a liar. The human condition means we are imperfect, all of us.

Anyway, as you say, learning from those times we do it wrong, is the way forward; it's much better than getting down on oneself and means the path forward will be more aligned with our needs. Alas, many continue to do the same thing expecting different results - the definition of madness.