You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: You Need to Calm Down

in Reflections4 months ago (edited)

Yes, mention it to your new doctor. Panic attacks are nothing to dismiss. I don't want to add to your worry: but my uncle died of one. He was in his early 60s, so not young but also not old. His wife found him dead in the morning. The doctor (or whatever we call the person who does the autopsy) said his heart burnt out, likely from a panic attack at night, or even more likely from a series of them that had weakened his heart so this last one took him over the edge. He was otherwise perfectly healthy. A marathon runner and baseball player.

I've never had one. But I do know friends who have had panic attacks, so I have some idea of what they experience. One friend had a panic attack on an airplane. That wasn't a good experience for anyone.

Anyway, please do mention it to your new doctor and see if you can work with him to track the cause. If you think sleep apnea may be a likely trigger, that is something to also mention to the doctor.

Good luck getting it under control!

Sort:  

Oh wow, thanks, I will definitely be sure to mention it now. I've still got a lot of time ahead of me I hope. I want to stay on top of those sorts of things!