You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Speed and its impact

in Reflections3 months ago (edited)

I think it's about the same in the States. With the possible exception that no one ever drives the speed limits and the police don't really seem very interested in enforcing the limits. When I lived there, the highway speed limit was 65 mph (105 kph) and everyone went 5 over at a minimum. Now the highway limit is 70 (113) in my home state, but I've been told and I've seen on my visits home that everyone does at least 80, and usually higher. The semis are suppose to do 5 below, but they are often going just as fast as the cars.

I think I am a pretty good driver. I've never been in an accident, though I've had to act quickly to avoid them many times in cases where I would not have been the one at fault. I can drive quickly and safely (I think). If the state just raised the limit to 90, I'd be ok. But the unpredictability of the current situation I think makes it far more dangerous.

Lots of tailgating too... but I'm past my quota on complaints.

(In Japan it's not that bad and everyone mostly follows the posted limits)

Sort:  

People rarely do the speed limit here, mostly people do 5-8kph over, but they get caught for it, (revenue raising) and it's costly.

I mostly do the speed limit I guess, overtaking on country roads is the exception. I once got $2300AUD in fines for speeding three times over two weeks and lost all my points except one or two which wasn't good. (Points don't come back for three years). If I lost my license I'd lose my job the same day so had to be careful (for three years). All good though, and it built a habit of doing the right thing.