You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Speed and its impact

in Reflections • 3 months ago

Like you, I am an old driver🙂
I got my license in 1995 and have been in the car since then. Until I bought my first car in 1998, I drove the cars of my brother, who was a car registration service. Then I was attracted to everything...
Thank God, except for minor knocks on the bumper and door, I have not had any serious traffic accidents.
In my country the situation is similar, restrictions on highways 120 and 130 km/h, main roads 90-110 km/h, in cities 50 km/h, and in special zones, schools. hospital, 30 km/h.
I am aware that reducing the speed, i.e., the limit, has a positive effect on the number of traffic accidents, but on some roads the speed limit has been the same since 1998 until today.
Back then we drove Zastava 750 cars with 767cc and 25PS (like the one I had), and today we drive cars with 2000cc and over 150PS, and the same speed limit. Shit...
By the way, the max speed I drove, way back in 1996, was 225km/h, in a Ford Sierra 2.0 Cosworth with 204PS.

Sort:  

I like speed limits, I feel they are appropriate, what I don't like is how they are used inappropriately, like to raise revenue or improve a politicians' standing prior to an election in the eyes of particular voters. Lower speed limits, and yet some of the roads are so poorly maintained they are downright dangerous. It's bonkers.

Those Sierra's you mention, I have driven one also, nice little cars and they've got some speed in them for sure.