You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Killing the rejects

in Reflections8 months ago

When I assumed the position of team leader in 2012, I got four colleagues in the team (I was in the team with one, and three more from another team), with whom I had previously collaborated, but I was not their superior.
One of them moved from my team to another after a few years, as an excellent expert, so we continued our quartet team development...
One of them is the "non-adjusted" one, but I quickly captured it and concluded how I should treat it to give the desired results... And so, it has been functioning successfully for 12 years.

An anecdote. A younger colleague from another sector enters the office, where at that moment I am sitting, with two others... The colleague comments to the members of my team something along the lines of: "wWhat kind of boss is yours, none😄".
The two of them laugh, and I reply to the young colleague (who has only been in the company for 3 or 4 years, unlike the three of us, where the youngest is 13 years of working with us), "So what do you think, if I'm not an OK boss, would they were here with me these 13 years😄?".

Sort:  

It's important to understand what (who) one working with as a leader, their weaknesses and strengths, attitudes also. If those are known, and worked around/built upon, there's a greater chance of ultimate success as you have said above.

That people stay around is an indication that you're a reasonable leader; good work.