Older Or Younger? What's The Difference?

in Reflectionslast month (edited)


A photo of a wedding ceremony I attended many years ago. I had to dig it out for this post because it was as controversial a topic then as it is today. The lady was rumoured to be older than the guy, not too much, just about three years and then the question came up in my little gathering;

Can you marry someone older? The Gents unanimously answered 'no', while the Ladies unanimously agreed it had to be so. Back then I had no right or wrong answer to that question because I had been left disillusioned and disappointed by a few relationships. Today, age and experience had taught me the best thing for me. Ultimately it does boil down to individual preferences and what works best for each couple in every given situation. I think I had related in ways that has worked for me especially.

Now again, a similar question arises in one of @galenkp's topics;

"Would you prefer to date or be with someone older or younger than yourself and why?

I had painted a vivid picture of my kind of guy when I was younger, an ideal partner would be older and like one of those handsome characters in my favourite romance novels. So I had set a standard which left me very stereotyped and not until I opened up to start seeing people for who they truly are, even beyond the superficial expectations or preconceived notions, did I discover a whole new world of possibilities, which had afforded me the opportunity to enjoy life. So I would say that over the years, one valuable lesson time has taught me is open-minded ness and this has in turn changed my whole perspective on so many things, relationships included.

AND SO I BOLDLY SAY THAT AGE GAP IS NO BIG DEAL TO ME, I CAN BE WITH SOMEONE OLDER OR YOUNGER THAN MYSELF AS FAR AS WE ARE TWO CONSENTING ADULTS!
So that's it, I would not throw away something excellently beautiful on account of age, as it's just a number to me, but I would count on the connection that exists between us, age regardless, and for a fulfilling and rewarding relationship, I would embrace the beauty in diversity.
Funnily enough, one never truly knows where, how or when one might find Love and companionship, Love's cupid arrow can hit so irresistibly hard, before you are even able to closely observe any age difference.

For me, it would be the level of maturity, compatibility and shared interests over age. For once the maturity levels match, even when ages doesn't, a sustainable relationship would be that which challenges me to be the awesomest version of myself.

The photo is mine.

Thank you @galenkp for the thought-provoking topics.

I am @edith-4angelseu and thank you for stopping by my neighbourhood.

Sort:  

Congratulations @edith-4angelseu! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 4750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2024

I am also of the opinion that the question is one of personal choice. About large age differences, I always doubt that they are really really consensual relationships for the younger party.Un abrazo @edith-4angelseu

That's true mi amigo 😊. Un Abrazo ❤️