MANAGING PERSONAL GROWTH: REFLECTIONS IN COLLEGE JOURNEY

in Reflectionslast month

Hello my beloved hiver's! It's me again emminemsss. A pleasant day to each one of you. Today, I'm gonna share with you my reflections in my college journey and my realizations of it. Starting college is a life-changing event that influences not only academically as well as personal growth.

At this point of my blog, I want to start my story when I am just trying to figure out what course I want to pursue in college. I graduated my Senior High School year 2019, and that's when COVID-19 pandemic started to spread all over the world. I didn't take any entrance exam after graduating because of the pandemic, and my father was asking me to stopped due to financial issues. Seeing my father struggling, I didn't hesitate to pause on my studies. But that doesn't necessarily mean that I will not continue my college journey. That time I don't have any regrets for my decisions to stop, instead I have the opportunity to discover my interest and challenging myself for a new task that would serve as a brief diversion. I became a tutor of a grade 3 student.

Fast forward, one year had pass and I decided to go back to school. I planned to pursue Criminology course in my dream school. I took entrance exams in three universities and luckily I am qualified. But among the three I chose Central Philippines State University which is far from home.

IMG20240320165219.jpg

I decided to take Education course instead of Criminology, because I'm afraid of the physical fitness test (PFT). The first thing that comes in my mind is that I can't do push-ups and "bangon-higa". So, after the result of the entrance exam, I came back to the university for my face-to-face interview with one of the professors there. As I sat on the chair infront, hearing the sound of the aircon, the murmurs around of my fellow applicants and the cold breeze of the air tickles my heart to be more nervous. I have no friends there. I am alone. But that doesn't stop me from being confident despite of the shaky hands and nervous mind. I am able to pass the first part of the interview which is the QUESTION AND ANSWER portion. Among 13+ applicants, only 5 of us remains and advised to comeback in the afternoon for another session. Others didn't make it even if they dance, sing, draw and even act. There are some who cried, I can feel their pain and seeing them makes me feel sad. I go with the other remaining applicants to eat outside the campus. We came back late, sir Denis didn't like it and lectured us that teachers must be disciplined especially when it comes to time.

Thankfully, he forgave us. We thought that it's still the same strategy with the morning session. But, we are advised to have a demo teaching. The two passed. And that makes us three left. All in all we do demo teaching three times in a row. But Sir Denis wasn't satisfied with our performances. We cried because we thought that we didn't t passed the challenge but we are surprised that Sir Denis accepted us. We cried again and that's when he asked us why we cried. My answer is that " sir because I chose this university over the two that I have been applied to, my parents won't be happy if we go home with negative results. I really want to continue my college journey because my family is really poor." Little did we know that Sir Denis is not only a professor but also a business person who sells stuffs like gowns and tuxedos. I mentioned this in my introductory blog. He introduced his business and ask if we're interested. Since I'm a little interested in modeling, I ask him if I can apply. He gave me his calling card so if ever that my parents would allow me, I'll just contact him.

Super-duper fast forward. I became a working student in my 1st and 2nd year of my college journey.

IMG20240320165347.jpg
It wasn't really facile. It became a burden to me, I sometimes cried. But even those painful moments, I didn't blame God. Instead, I was so thankful that he let me experience those journey wherein I became who I am now. I became strong, independent and most of all I am no longer relying on my parents. I am so grateful that I am now in my 3rd year, hopefully I can finish my studies.

So my reflections on this is that I realized, that if things are for you, then God will make a way. I didn't choose my course but my course choose me instead. I will forever cherish and treasure this great opportunity that God has given me. The pain, struggles, and difficulties are part of growing up. Fighting.

I hope you guys, my fellow hiver's will also be grateful with the path that you take. I love you all.

Sort:  

Congratulations @emminemsss! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 10 comments.
Your next target is to reach 50 comments.
You got more than 10 replies.
Your next target is to reach 50 replies.
You received more than 500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 600 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Thank you so much hivebuzz!

All good @emminemsss! You're a true Hive champion! Onward to that new goal!

BTW, we noticed we miss your support for our proposal. Mays we ask you to check it out and consider supporting it?
All you need to do is to click on the "support" button on this page: https://peakd.com/proposals/248.
Thank you!

No problem 😁

Thank you @emminemsss. Looking forward to getting your support for our proposal 🙂⏳

The progress of becoming a teacher can be rigorous, but I can assure you that it's worth it because as a teacher, you have to be well equipped so that you don't feel unqualified when you stand before your pupils. I wish you success in your endeavors.

Thank you so much for encouraging words and I agree. I will take note of that! 🥰