Year-End Chronicles: Discovering me amidst the new year maze ✨.

in Reflections4 months ago

IMG_20231231_125925_500.jpg

The year is finally wrapping up, and in few hours, we'd be celebrating a new year. I didn't have to reflect too much before I can say God has been good to me on all sides.

I remembered this day last year like yesterday, when I had to sit down and draft out what I should have achieved before the year runs out.

From the very beginning, I have always written a very long "what I will achieve in this year," and at the end of the year, nothing to show for it. Either because I get choked up along the way, or I just couldn't continue.

And this time around, I was still nonchalant and I'm sure I just wrote them, so I won't look unserious. Lol 😅.

I could remember that out of all I wrote, there were two particular things I really needed to achieve. And they are that, I will read voraciously this year, and that I will learn a skill from a particular person.

After all of this, I came into the new year on vibes and inshallah.

January came and went, February, nothing to show for it, March, I was just trying to live.

By the fourth month, it was like a veiled was removed from my face, there was a push from within. And I found myself taking intentional steps towards achieving all I wanted to.

I first off all, went to learn the skill I needed to learn.
I picked up books intentionally and I started reading.
I started finding more reason to be alive each day.
No more waking and thinking of what I should do today, because of lack of direction!

2023 is still the best year yet for me. I found myself, know what I want and I'm going for them with full force!

Do I dare to say that I achieved everything and more this year? Yes I did!

I even started seeing myself in a better light than before.

Why am I writing this? I'm writing this because trust me there is pressure everywhere! Everyone seem to have what it is they have done this year, and you can't seem to pinpoint any, well I'm here to tell you "REST!"

You sef, you don try!

I'm sure you know it isn't about how much, but how well.

That little thing you didn't think was something, could be your "how well."
We often overlook the little and focus on the big, that we forget that little will always precede bigness.

And yes, the fact that you didn't start with the enthusiasm that everyone is starting with doesn't make you any less, the point is you started.

And yes, embrace the closing chapters of 2023 with grace. Let go of the pressure, and focus on that which you have achieved.
Every step forward counts, regardless of the calendar.

Image from me

Sort:  

What matters is now, let go of the past but learn from your past mistakes, what I didn’t do and how I can do it this year and how I can do better should be what you’re thinking.
So that at the end of this year, you’ll have something to say, you’ll have your achievements too.

And also learn to trust God to do things for you. You know you can’t do it without him so why not trust him fully on things you can’t do.
Remember He knows you more than you know yourself and He gave you that life you’re living and he’s ready, all you need to do is let him in.

Sure.

Thank you so much for your kind words.
Instructions well taken.