I am since yesterday a Professional Scrum Master!

IMG_4422.jpeg

I took my PSM exam yesterday. Strange to be honest. I did get the token to take the test around 12 a.m.. That was also the moment that nerves started to kick in.

Wasn’t a great day to take the test. The wife was working in our work place so I was sitting in the living room. The you was sitting out his punishment. No mobile, iPad or youtube was allowed. And to be honest he was getting on my nerves!

So I was waiting until the wife stopped working so that I had a quieter place to take the test. You do have 60 minutes to complete the test and need a score of 85% to pass it.
While open book, you do need to answer 80 multiple choice questions, so there isn’t a lot of time to look things up.
Also deed feel pressure to pass. Not only personal, but also from the company and strange enough from my kids. Not directly from the kids but I am always telling them to study harder/smarter and often complaining about their results. So I hd to give the good example.
After 35 minutes I did answer all the questions and had some marked to go over them again. The open assessments I took were really helpful. Some questions did come back which dies save you a head start.

And yes I did nail it with 97.5%.
So I can call myself a Professional Scrum Master, together with around 600k other people in the world.
But this also did awaken the feeling to invest more into myself. So planning to prepare for the PSM II certificate or the Professional Product Owner I.

On Monday I will start my new assignment. Curious how that will evolve.

Have a nice weekend!
Peter

Sort:  

Congrats on making it! Exames can be damn stressfull in times. the intersting deal about scrum mastering is that you don't always need the knowledge of the product you work with, which I find intersting but weird at the same time haha.

Ow well, I guess it all depends on how a company fills it in! At least you got a good basis now that will surely open a lot of doors ! Congrats!

That's correct. The scrum master does manage/control the process. The product owner and team should have the product knowledge!
Thx for the comment.