You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sport

in Reflections9 months ago

I agree, it's become a little more difficult to find enjoyment in sport for some due to the parents and coaches...it's a little unfair to the kids.

It's also the PC aspect of society, not allowing kids to score games so no one gets upset...everybody wins. But, as we know, that's not the case in the real world. People lose, a lot.

Sort:  

Yeah, I agree with that too. I am all for everyone getting a chance, but some kinds work really hard to be able to play and some have natural talent. Just being able to play if you do/have neither shouldn't be an option.

The way it's done squashes the competitive spirit and...in the business world, later down the track, that's not a good thing. Not everybody wins in business, or the real world in general, and neither should they...but not letting kids score a game or handing everyone the same ribbon in a running grace? Bonkers.

I agree! That would drive me crazy if I were a parent.

I don't think I'd handle it too well; I think I'd want to home school, but that doesn't change the fact this situation is widespread throughout the remainder of society. Mediocrity is the new black.

Home schooling needs to be done right for it to work. These co op home schools have a good premise where kids still get social interaction and things like that. I work for a public school and we get vilified for things that are beyond our control. It's been close to twenty years and parents haven't gotten any less nuts.

I agree, and I know people who regret doing it. In a way, I'm glad I'm not a parent who has to make a decision either way. I know I'd not send my kids to a private school though, I think the right public school works well, provided it's augmented with other things outside of school.