How Fast the Night Changes: Revealing Memories in My Province

in Reflections2 months ago
As I was scrolling through my gallery , a mix of emotions, with some great moments and a bit of nostalgia struck me. Seeing the pictures I took during our visit to our province, Balamban, brought back flashbacks and realizations.

I visited our province weeks ago with my cute baby cousins and other relatives. My grandma was eagerly anticipating our arrival. Earlier that day, she kept messaging me on Messenger to confirm if I would be there.

During my evening stay with my family in our province, I realized something- a lot had truly changed.


How fast the night changes.

Reports of shootings and deaths in our province have been prevalent. Also, there have been recent incidents of armed people with machetes going around the nearby village during nights.

How fast the night changes.

There was a time when I was just a little girl living in the province. Now, I find myself as a grown woman, only able to visit when circumstances permit.

How fast the night changes.

Now, I have baby girl cousins who mischievously grab candies from my grandma's sari sari store even when their mom forbids them to do so , just like I did when I was little. I see my younger self in them, playful and carefree.

How fast the night changes.

I used to care so much about my medals and wouldn't let anybody touch them. However, when my little cousins found some of them, I simply let them wear the medals, even if one broke, and I didn't mind at all.

How fast the night changes.

When we visit, I notice fewer people each time. It's quieter now, even though it has gotten better with new roads and bridges. Many have moved to the city or somewhere else for better opportunities , and I understand- they're striving to provide for their families and improve their lives.

How fast the night changes.

When I was younger, Chacha used to accompany me wherever I go. She's one of the reasons why I have so many happy memories there. Sadly, all her siblings are gone, and she's the only one left. It saddens me to see her so old and blind. I just wish dogs could live longer like us.

How fast the night changes.

I used to give my grandparents' pigs a drink and shower when they looked dirty and stinky, and now, I'm still doing it. Old habits just stick around. Even though I know they'll get dirty again, I just like to see them clean and bathed.

How fast the night changes.

One night, I enjoyed a delicious meal and conversations with my family in our province. The next day, I found myself back in the city,sitting in our vehicle, just appreciating the natural scenery.

Thinking about my younger years, I have come to realize that, despite how fast the night changes, I believe I'm still the same girl I was before- full of wonder, happiness, and appreciation. But, my appreciation for life has grown, no matter how fast-paced and pressure-filled it may be.

I know I might sound so sentimental, but our province, Balamban, means a lot to me. It is where I made most of my childhood memories, learned, grew up, and became who I am today. That's why every time I go back there, I can't help but notice the changes over time.


Thinking about these memories just makes me feel truly grateful, and I wanted to thank you for letting me share them with all of you. I hope you have a lovely day or night wherever you are in the world, sweeties! 💛

Sort:  

It's great to re-visit our past going to places and doing things we once did years ago. I went to my childhood town last summer, it really does bring back memories of the past. I wish I could visit my childhood home farm but it was sold and the new owners burnt almost everything down and built a new home 😢 Still though there is a lot that remains untouched at other locations that I use to visit 😊

Awww, I'm sorry to hear about your childhood home farm. But yeah, it's great that you can still appreciate the brighter side of things. 😊

!HUG

Dear @ikaycutie, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @coolmidwestguy.
(1/3)

There are many memories from our pas, some are beautiful and some are painful

True, but let's cherish the good and learn from the tough ones. :)

This is why I love going home to the province: the weather, the view, and the warmth of family.

The province just has a unique charm. 😊

Let's cherish every memory that simply gives us joy. Thank you sharing ms @ikaycutie

I couldn't agree more. 😊

This is so touching. Going home to our province is one thing I always looked up to.

The province really holds a special place in our hearts.