Six weeks, age long smiles.

in Reflectionslast year

Hello friends,

It's a renewed hope and joy when we're are able to make new friends daily even as we undertake our daily duties.

A lot had happened in my life within the past few weeks and I'm not ready to talk about the massive hardship our political class had put my country Nigeria into. Ranging from poor money policies where the citizens have to buy their own local currency at a very high rate as it's done at the exchange market.

I won't dedicate my strength to talking about the elections going on in the country with all it's flaws putting the poor masses in fear and in a state of hopelessness. But it's most fascinating to understand that at this time , the youths have risen to take about their country from the wicked political class.

In this time,

Every season in life has those it favors and those who truly suffers. Our world is really passing through a whole lot. We don't give up we move , living by Hope , Faith believing in God for his mercies.

IMG_20230214_092224_3.jpg
The chess champ in my class.

In this period of financial crisis in Nigeria, it's the time I'm must fulfill a compulsory six weeks teaching practice exercise. This is in partial fulfilment of my degree in the university. I had hoped that the university would post me to close by school, but it happened that I was posted to a distant community where I needed to spend over a thousand two hundred naira to and fro which is a whole lot to spend on transportation daily for six whole week.

IMG_20230210_124905_272.jpg
Ballet Dance rehearsal.

My thoughts and fear.

How do I get my money from the bank or from money point, it's not that I don't have the money to pay my transportation fare but where can I find the money, the banks aren't dispensing cash so one has to depend on private individuals to get cash and they sell at a price they feel good. We keep pressing forward.

The joy from the kids means the whole world and the stress is less felt because the kids are there to cheer us up - my colleagues and I.

The first week.

Within the first week of the exercise, we were just to get along with the kids and the environment before our supervisors would start coming. The school is well equipped with lots of kiddies toys , sports facilities and the environment is very conducive. The teachers are friendly we the student teachers felt at home and our exercise had a sweet start.

IMG_20230214_091930_106.jpg
Grade two classes
I and one other guy were assigned to grade two class. The class has two arms . Grade two Hypothesis and Grade two Rose. Unfortunately, the period this picture was taken, the the grade two Rose teacher was sick and the two classes was combined making the class a large one .

IMG_20230216_135519_039.jpg
Student teacher with his pupils.

The kids and the entire school loved me in particular because during the morning devotions I dance making the kids have fun . On the sports day, I will lead on the exercises using rhythmic activities to lead the process which kept the kids focused, I remembered one of the teachers saying to me that we never had it like in a long time.

Time to say bye to the kids and the school.

The the journey of six weeks was shortened due the elections taking place in Nigeria, the federal government ordered that tertiary institutions should close for two weeks this made or supervisors to come a week before the normal date. This means that we had to leave the school and the kids a week early. It wasn't really joyous for us because the kids were awesome to stay with.

IMG_20230216_133625_586.jpg
Mr Happiness and I. He's my colleague in grade two. The kids love his loud voice. The kids would always want him to shout so that they can laugh at his loud crack voice 🤣😂🤣. One of the kids was bold to tell him , Mr Happiness, your voice is like a trumpet lol .

IMG_20230216_133355_788.jpg

She will always glue on me hahaha he's nice to be with . She is a good teacher the supervisor said. I love diligence to service.
IMG_20230216_133305_683.jpg

You can't see her frown for any reason. She's always the first to get to the school daily and he's always prepared I learned so much from her , she's a good team player.
IMG-20230216-WA0015.jpg
A cross-section of the student teachers at Lacfog Academy.
What a better team would one ever ask for . These guys are simply the best guys to work with.

This academic exercise by the grace of God we hope for destinations .
The friends made, the experience acquired, the knowledge impacted the joy and the new energy all in one exercise.

Be refreshed daily by the hope you can do all things through Christ Jesus ❣️.