Praying for Her Peace despite all flaws

in Reflections7 months ago

At first, I did not want to write this article, not because I do not like my country, maybe I am feeling a bit down because of so many wrongs I can see around.

However I went out today, and amid a song, I felt motivated. I've always liked listening to our National Anthem ever since I could understand deeply the meaning it contained.

Especially the verses
"The Labour of Our Heroes past
Shall never be in vain"

It constantly reminds me that 63 years ago, a group of teens and young adults said "Enough is enough." They wanted freedom, no not just wanted, they demanded freedom!

They dripped sweat and blood to get it. Most of them knew they might not be able to see tje results, but they still fought. (In a way it reminds of Queen Esther who said "If i die, then i die")

In a way they got it.

I will also never undermine the hard work of those behind the scenes, who gave up things we consider valuable, turning their back to all to move this country forward.

We're not where we want to be as a country. No! We're not even close. However, we will get there.

The Holy Book (The Bible) says "pray for the peace of Jerusalem" and I put it to you to pray for the peace of Nigeria. She needs it and so do her citizens. Love her and you will prosper.

In all honesty and with all the love I can gather I say
God bless Nigeria
And God bless you

Happy Independence Day 🎉