You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: On the Walls

in Reflectionslast year

I'm noticing recently, I value items much more that I craft myself. And surprised at how DIY is of growing fascination to me, across an ever expanding spectrum of products and services.

The "mass produced" just doesn't do it for me now. There's times I even ponder if I could learn sewing. I love the pride of accomplishment and knowing exactly how something was made, and made right (in my opinion).

I always joke when I hear a conversation that has "I saved 40%..." or "I got this on sale..." for some commodity item, voiced in an excited tone, eyes wide open. I have this irresistible habit of bubble popping via a snarky response of, "If you keep saving money like that, you'll be RICH!" The conversation participants stare at me, then collectively seek out a different venue to continue their hyperventilation, leaving me to pet the cats nearby.

Once you skill up, be it photography for home decor, cooking, property maintenance, etc, you really start to realize outsourcing that talent doesn't produce something of high value, especially on the appreciation side, let along the quality.

Very thought provoking post.

Sort:  

There's times I even ponder if I could learn sewing.

I am sure you can. If I can do it, anyone can!! :D
It has been many years since I made anything "proper", but I made some things to decorate our daughter's room before she was born. Made some evening dresses 20 years before that for a fashion show :D

"If you keep saving money like that, you'll be RICH!"

And then they will look at you like you don't understand finance...