You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Paradox of Authenticity

in Reflections5 months ago

Really nice Kylo Helmet and Lightsaber. With just a black cloak you should be all set for a cosplay or halloween.

I’ve always wondered how people in social media can just show their faces, act ridiculously, and live with themselves

I think a lot of people just want to be famous. With social media, they are able to see all these famous influencers living their life, traveling to different countries, being paid a lot of money to do these, be goofy, while "being themselves". What a lot of them don't realize is that most people are boring. That is why once their channel/video don't get the views they want, they turn to silliness and they create a persona. Sure they can maybe get more views, but I do agree that it is at the cost of their dignity.

For the top influencers, I guess they are well compensated, but for smaller creators, I don't think it is worth it. Some eventually just stop on their own. I've seen some influencers share how they got big, and it is a matter of being consistent, finding your niche, doing your research on what works, and slowly building your audience. For Twitch, some say you have to be one of the best at the game you are playing, or you have to have an awesome personality that can attract an audience. Those that are both are the ones that really blow up.

Sort:  

Yeah, I do see that a lot. But I agree with the people are boring statement. At least, they are when they just have the normal grind and not into anything super interesting. I wonder too if we are just inherently boring or if we get the life sucked out of us by just living.