"Character Development"

in Reflections2 months ago (edited)

"Hardship is a blessing when it spurs effort and development; ease is a curse when it increases complacency and self-indulgence."Muso Kokushi


We've all got our struggles, and we all have a distinct threshold to tolerance when it comes to hardship.

When faced with trouble, some struggle in their noggins, where they cannot run from the thought of the negative; too busy focusing on failures, and hurdles, what if they are unsuccessful, what will society think of them if they fail? Yadayadayada...

There are other struggles too, as many struggle physically, it may either be an eating disorder or the "load" of oneself, simply suffering from laziness and gluttony. The fact here is, that even a lazy person thinks they've struggled, after cooking a meal, or after getting rid of their chores and laundry. Rough, isn't it?

And for most, it's a bit of both...

The world and its masses struggle from the lack of funds, some have, or once had the funds but didn't know how to manage them. Some are too lazy to go out there and earn, get that bread, as they say. The "rich", from the very top percentage have all the money in the world, but even they struggle, mostly with a lack of options; options to spend all that money somewhere or on something. And until that surplus or lump sum of money is either wasted or invested, that person remains restless.

Whether you have no money or a surplus of it, discipline always keeps you at bay.

Money may give you power over a thing or two, especially the very necessary things and problems of life. Yet, at one point, there's just no point in having more, however, it does feel good to have a surplus, doesn't it? Adds a bit of "security" to life, let's say.

Yet, nothing in life is promised, except death, and taxes...


FB_IMG_1711348377986.jpg

ᴵᵐᵃᵍᵉˢ ᵃⁿᵈ ᵒᵛᵉʳᵃˡˡ ᶜᵒⁿᵗᵉⁿᵗ ᵃʳᵉ ᵐʸ ᵒʷⁿ ᵘⁿˡᵉˢˢ ᶦᵗ'ˢ ᵐᵉⁿᵗᶦᵒⁿᵉᵈ


Alas, for money-minded and pro-money people, sure, money will buy you a big house, but it won't buy a home full of love. It can't buy you time, or bring back your loved ones. It can help in keeping you "healthy" with good food and expensive meds and treatments, but for how long? Peace of mind is something that is totally up to you. It depends on what your priorities are, and the people that surround you. Yet, if you don't find peace when your pockets are empty, then you'll probably never find peace when your pockets are deep.

Trust and loyalty are most valuable to me, and trust me when I say this, I met the most trustworthy people that I know when I had absolutely nothing.

When you one day have money, you won't instantly attain things like trust and respect, even if it does feel that way, it's usually just plain ole bootlicking that's yapping at you from the opposite direction.

At the end of the day, it is all a struggle. The difference is, that most of these scenarios are purely man-made; either due to our incompetence, a lack of hunger, or due to fear. Yet, sometimes, it's purely the case of unforeseen circumstances; which I believe are the "true" struggles of life.

This is where life can really be a b*tch.

I've experienced my share of struggle quite early on in life. Whatever character development one requires, I've experienced and learned most of it in my juvenile days. Yet, the learning doesn't stop there. I still get my ass handed to me every now and then, for which I stay on track, and for that I am grateful. Humans really do deserve a bit of ass whopping to stay on track.

The thing is, I have my own set of responsibilities and problems, I have my struggles, and while taking care of these responsibilities, I have seen and learned a few things.

I'm not here to compete in a struggle competition to see who's struggling the most or who has learned the most. Yet, the amount of work I've put in in the past 3 years, putting my health, my time, and everything dear to me on the line, just so that I can support my family properly; it was all nothing less than a challenge. From early morning nose bleeds due to hyper-tension and very little sleep, to a diet consisting of barely two meals a day because there was either no food to eat or I was too busy working. From extreme hair fall to baggy eyes, due to stress and lack of sleep.

Also, the unquenchable thirst and hunger, to make a difference one day. It is because of that thirst, that drive, that now here in 2024, I am doing quite alright.

I am finally living to live, and not living to just make a living.

Does that even make sense?

I am still working just as hard though, maybe more than I ever have, but I have gotten used to it, and I like it, since I am finally able to make a little difference. There's still a long way to go, and I'm not stopping here, and hopefully, I'll live to see the day when these very avoidable struggles and headaches become a thing of the past.

I've sacrificed a lot to be here. It's the most I've risked in life, whether it's my health or money; yet, I am glad that I did what I did. A "good life" doesn't come easy. A bit of risk, perseverance, and a vision is what I started with, and it's paying off I guess.

Here's a little piece I wrote today on a social media post, one that I feel like sharing here -

"When life and its circumstances have got your neck on a leash, you will have no choice but to surrender every possession that is dear to you; just for the sake of survival". 🌹

And that's exactly what I did, and I'll probably do it again if needed.

Because sometimes...

“In order to gain anything you must lose everything"



1.png


Sort:  

Money is important in our everyday lives. Well, money isn’t everything but he who has money can solve some of his major problems

Money will only solve the "necessary" and day-to-day problems; yet, if that's all taken care of, then that person doesn't have much to worry about, nor should they have the excess want for money.