Frienship

in Reflections2 months ago (edited)

image.png

Foto from Wil Stewart at Unsplash

As we are approaching the launch of our dApp and service in two weeks I have started to get calls from old friends with whom I talked about crypto a few years ago now that the beast of the market has woken up.

I am busier than hell with all the minor changes and bug fixes on the dApp, plus we are preparing the booth for the festival and closing last-minute meetings with some of the brewers we will be inviting to participate in promoting the service, but I always try to have a few minutes to those who call. I answer quickly some of their questions and when they ask me what am I about at present, I tell them about the beer project and invite them to come to the festival to meet and chat.

This is the part I love the most about this new venture I am launching, the "analog social" part with a beer in your hand. No videoconference, no messenger, no telephone call. A real meeting face to face enjoying real time while having a beer. I believe I have invited to come and visit our booth more than twenty people so far, I know many may not come but it will be fun to meet with those who do, get to see them after a few months or years, and have a beer while answering their crypto questions and explaining our business model.

Having a beer is like the glue that keeps relationships in this industry, you can have a tough meeting to close a deal or fail to do so, but even in those cases, you are invited to have a beer with the other party. I like the "social" part of it. It makes it more human, it is as if at the end of the meetings you put the "business" side apart and enter the "social" part to chat about life.

I like to have an excuse to invite some of my old friends to come to meet me, walk around the many different breweries we will be surrounded by ask about the brewery story, and the different beer varieties they have and finally choose one and taste while explaining how they get into something new which can help them increase the engagement with their consumers and showing my friends how blockchain can be used for many other things than finance, trading and investment.

This Friday we will be having our second real test. A bar in a town north of Barcelona this time, owned by a local brewery. Marc, the owner who I talked to about the project last summer at a local beer festival did not know anything about crypto back then, but he liked the idea and decided to move forward testing the site when we were ready. Eight months later we are ready to test with Marc and his crew and we can feel we are getting closer and closer to the public launch.

But no matter how we do on Friday or at the Festival in two weeks, we will be having fun and socializing with beer!

Sort:  

Beer is life. Since I quit consuming grains I drink way less of it, but sometimes I indulge and still enjoy it. Curious about the dApp, I'm out of the loop! Good luck!

Thank you!,

Will keep posting about it here

Nice ambiance

Sounds great! Anything that gets people meeting face to face and sharing together is a winner in my books.

On a side note, while I don't drink beer, having those face to face chats with friends and strangers, is one of the things that brings me energy in this world.