Lisbon for a few hours

in Reflectionslast month

1000011342.jpg

Traveling is a cool experience most of the time. Pleasure is of course a preferable reason to travel, but even when you do it for work, there are usually some nice moments and experiences in the time you spend somewhere new to you.

I traveled to Lisbon for the first time, more than twenty years ago. And unfortunately I did not have time to spend a few hours enjoying the city. This time was not much different. I had a 2 hr drive to town last evening to reach my AirBnb. But luckily I was able to have dinner with a friend who just moved here a few months ago. It was great yo have dinner with a friend instead of alone by myself.

I drove to the chaotic city center, parked the car and walked to the meeting spot. The city, although new, felt quite familiar. The language is similar to Spanish and Catalan, both my mother languages, many familiar spanish brands are stablished here, and the city has the same flavour as the Spanish big towns when I was a kid.

I liked it and definitely will have to come back to walk around the streets, visit some of the sights, eat local food and enjoy this new but quite familiar culture.

Watching the city huge photo murals on the airport walls made me promise myself I will do it sometime this year. Now that we own a small property at the other side of this beautiful country, it should not be hard to travel to its capital only for pleasure. For now, the party starts in just a few hours. Beer and a new venture is ready to launch!!

gifme.beer

1000010852.jpg