6 Reflections from Chess

in Reflections7 months ago (edited)

To begin with, I am not a professional chess player. I only know a few openings and I am still struggling with the rest of the openings. If you come up to me and ask me, what move should I do next in a game, I may be more perplexed than you are. But here are some life lessons I learnt while playing chess and who knows it may inspire you too.

I have an on and off relationship with chess. I started playing it during my teens to calm my overanxious mind. Whilst my aspiration is not to be a Grand Master, chess is more of a hobby for me. It helps me focus and makes me more vigilant in an attack. For me, it is applying the Art of War (Sun Tzu technique) for some time and then I would carry on with my daily routine. Call it my escape mechanism.

jon-tyson-SlntP-SLi0Q-unsplash.jpg

> Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

Over my time playing chess, some lessons I learnt over the years that I want to share.

  1. Patience: While chess does help in decision-making ability, patience got me to stick to it. After a few months of re-playing chess, I realized I was not as rash in making decisions as I used to be. It was so bad that it drove my family and friends bonkers. I am giving myself time to decide when I am in dilemma. I am calmer under pressure. It has taught me not to react but think and act instead.

  2. Reason to stay at home (Don’t do this, this is unhealthy, lol) Being an introvert, I am glad to spend my Friday evenings playing chess online or even studying about it. Instead of going to party and shudder at every person I must talk to. And you don’t even have to speak to each other while playing this game. You don’t even have to focus on the other person, there is no awkwardness in the situation at all.

  3. More brain usage (hahaha): Chess has helped me to be mature. I am growing as a mature and calm person and it is like the friend who is there for you without judging.

  4. Accepting the results, no matter what they are: Of course, it is not always a happy journey. I do get disheartened by the failures when I am defeated or when I make mistakes. But that does not mean I will stop playing chess. If anything, I am intrigued about the moves and strategy the opponent used. This also made me realize that I do not have to be disheartened in my life if I lose one battle — I can win the next one.

  5. Time management: The games have also taught me that every minute is important. A move in the next few seconds can change the situation of the game completely.
    aron-visuals-BXOXnQ26B7o-unsplash.jpg
    > Photo by Aron Visuals on Unsplash

  6. Being in the present: While playing, I am deeply excited when a critical move comes up and I must “think”. I love being in that zone. For a moment, the results are all forgotten, and it is the game that makes you want to play. Doesn’t matter if you are winning or losing. The excitement of treading an unknown path is an achievement. And if you are in an unfamiliar pattern game, then your complete focus shifts there. This game demands 100% focus from the start to end and a move such as moving a pawn plays a pivotal role in strategy. For people like me, who are over thinking all the time, this is the perfect game to play.

I may sound nerdy after writing all these points, but you must find what intrigues you and makes you happy. Stick to it even if you don’t want to monetize it. After all, we are meant to enjoy life. For me, chess is fun, that adds meaning to my life and even money is incomparable to it.

Chess makes my life happier and makes it more meaningful. It is the partner that makes you feel happier just because it is there. If you find a similar activity, then you should go for it (of course, the actions should be ethically correct too).

Let me know what games or activities you do that you learnt something from and use it in your daily life!

Disclaimer: All the images have their sources cited.

Sort:  

I used to play chess when I was a child. My Father was my mentor. I've forgotten all I've learned, lol. Maybe this is the time to relearn the game. Looking forward to reading more of your works. All the best❣️

Nice! It is ok, never too late to start anything again

All the best to you too!

Are you willing to be my mentor then?

Hahaha yes of course!

I play chess with my daughter, even though I suck, because it is good for her mental development. :)

I am not that great too haha, just practicing :)

It is a fun game to play. I really am bad, and even worse these days. But my daughter is pretty good considering how little we play :)

That is ok, I am out of form all of the time hahaha. But nice bonding with your daughter. My father and I also bonded over chess!

Congratulations!


You have obtained a vote from CHESS BROTHERS PROJECT

✅ Good job. Your post has been appreciated and has received support from CHESS BROTHERS ♔ 💪


♟ We invite you to use our hashtag #chessbrothers and learn more about us.

♟♟ You can also reach us on our Discord server and promote your posts there.

♟♟♟ Consider joining our curation trail so we work as a team and you get rewards automatically.

♞♟ Check out our @chessbrotherspro account to learn about the curation process carried out daily by our team.


🥇 If you want to earn profits with your HP delegation and support our project, we invite you to join the Master Investor plan. Here you can learn how to do it.


Kindly

The CHESS BROTHERS team