APPRECIATION CULTURE

in Reflections3 months ago

Ever since I was a kid, I've always known the importance of appreciation. Even for the smallest help from friends and family, I always express gratitude. My mom made it a mission for all of us, anytime she gets us anything and you just want to leave without saying a thank you, she calls back and say learn to say “thank you”. Here in our part of the world, appreciation is deeply ingrained in our culture and I don’t think there is a culture or a place where appreciation isn’t a thing. one of the most important phrases to know is "thank you."

IMG_2256.webp
source

Today, I took a cab and on the way, the driver was stopped for not having his ticket. He didn't have enough money to buy it, but he didn't want to stop working because if you don’t have your ticket the rule is that you can’t work. It led to a big argument, but I decided to pay for him. After I paid and everything settled down, I was surprised that the driver didn't even say a word of appreciation even during the rest of our journey. Now, don't get me wrong, I didn't do it for his thank you but surely I wouldn’t do that for him next time. I did it from the heart, and his lack of gratitude doesn't stop me from helping others in need. The world is already hard enough; we should spread love, not hate.

IMG_2257.webp
source

Appreciation is such an important value, and it's disappointing when it's not reciprocated. In that situation, I might have felt a bit taken aback too. Personally, I believe in the power of kindness and helping others without expecting anything in return. However, it's also important to acknowledge and appreciate those who go out of their way to assist us. It's not about asking for the money back or making a big deal out of it, but a simple "thank you" can go a long way in showing gratitude. How about you? What would you have done in that situation? Let's share our stories