Let's face our fears together and empower each other.

in Reflectionslast month

It is unexpected to learn, that there are over 500 range of phobias that humans are suffered from but most are extremely rare that are found in people. A phobia is an anxiety disorder that causes an irrational, persistent, and excessive fear of a person, object, activity, situation, or animal. Phobias can range from mild to severe and can happen in early childhood, they affect both men and women equally. Phobias can be caused by a combination of genetic, family and environmental factors.

20240524_104815.jpg
(own edited image)

Phobias are irrational fears that are extreme and often unjustified because the threat is minimal or non-existent. People with phobias may go to extreme lengths to avoid the thing they're afraid of, even though they understand that their fear is not logical. It can be so overwhelming that a person may try to avoid the source of their fear or endure it with great anxiety and distress. Phobias can cause a rapid onset of fear. A person with a phobia may experience an accelerated heart rate, clammy hands and feet, and sweating. Once the stress is relieved, they may feel cold and shaky.

As said there are numerous types of phobias, Dogs, Heights, Tunnels, Darkness, Water, Flying, and Injuries involving blood. In my case, I have a phobia from sharp objects near my face. It is kind of environmental factors that took over on my mind since my school days. In environmental factor, "Phobias" can be caused by a traumatic event, such as a bad first encounter with a feared object or situation. and I went through one such instance.

my twist with phobia

it was during one of history classes in my school days. I was not interested in leaening dates, and events. Infact not many students liked that subject. But everyone was attending it casually. To spend the time, I started poking a boy sitting in front of me. He didn't reacted but suddenly he moved his hand fiercely backwards. I noticed a spiky wooden pencil passing in front my eyes in quick time. It created a panic in me. My eyes was saved from a major injuiries or bruises. (I am feeling the goosebumps, mere remembering the situation). That guy was attentive and did not liked my disturbances.

Since then, I never like any pencil, pen or any sharp objects near my face or someone playing with them near me. I noticed it later, that I develop a kind of fear from that situation in the class room. As soon as I comes across any sharp objects, I feel a increased geerr best and anxiety taking over me. I think that incident has a severe impact on my mind, and created a fear of losing my eyes. In such cases, I quickly move away or ask the person to keep the objects away.

People have all kinds of phobias, some common phobias include:

  • Arachnophobia: Fear of spiders
  • Ailurophobia: Fear of cats
  • Aerophobia: Fear of flying on a plane.
  • Vertigo : Fear from heights

And I have my own phobias which develops with a childhood incidents. I better avoid such situation to appears. But again, you never know how and in what way it may comes to haunt. I experinced it in office, or home and many other places. Even if some plays with a pen or pencil in their fingers, I started feeling unwell. It was later I realised I have my own type of Phobia.

The only way to cope up with such irrational fears, is by learning relaxation techniques that can help to get rid with the mental and physical feelings of fear.

This is my Day - 24 entry to Inleo Writing Prompt for the m/o May.

Peace!!

Namaste @steemflow

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Wow, that is pretty scary! I'm not a fan of snakes. I can handle most anything else. Heights are a little dodgy too I guess.

My area is around jungle so snakes and scorpions are everyday kill nowadays....kids play with them...but not me...

Yikes! Yeah, that's a big no thank you from me!

Few days ago...it was like this a venomous was killed by an 8 year old.

Yuck!

I agree with You. There are many tecniques that help us learn to relax and it have a powerfull efect on us wellness, especially when we suffer any type of phobia.

Controlling the breathing is one of the most powerful tool to relax...not many knows but it is a great way of relaxing

A sharp object shouldn't have any business on someone's face to start with, your experience is similar to PTSD, you can overcome this fear though.

It is not that kind...I mean...if u sitting next to me and holding a pen or any sharp stationary in hand...or playing in fingers it creates kind of panic to me.

It's a good thing that you are able to cope up the phobia you had.😊

Nicely. I love it. But, my question is how do one ascertain the right technique of relaxation for a particular phobia experience? Thanks for sharing. Have a lovely day.

Are you afraid of cats? Then you can't be a wizard hahahaha I love cats! They are my faithful friends since ever.

I'm a bit afraid of spiders and a little bit of vertigo but the second .... is too little, I'm overcoming it little by little.

I am not afraid of anything....I am moulded myself to face everything....witches, wizard, cats or anythings....let them come ..m ready to face

Keep training! We witches have a lot of strength🤣

Yes of course....🦾🦾 let see If I bear it

You will, you are training.🤣