You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Ghost in the Machine: The Prophecies of AI

in Reflectionslast year

You'd be surprised at how similar the everyday thoughts can line up with philosophers treasured and immortalised over the centuries for saying the same basic premises but in more formal, convoluted language.

I don't read philosophers either - however, perhaps it is an alignment based on their observations over the years as well.

For me, I don't personally line up with Descartes concept for a few other reasons. When I am thinking, there seems to be a physical location of those thoughts, somewhere in my head, certainly, I guess between and above my eyes.

I have heard that people on LSD might argue this, as that location can be lost.

AI is a major concern at the moment for taking ahhr jahhbbs, but it is far from the level of taking our bodies and minds. But will that always be the case?

It is already replacing us mentally in many respects and changing the way we behave. Aren't we getting hacked when we follow suggestion to act differently? Our code is being altered to get a different outcome and, it is being done quite systematically. Perhaps we are robots already, at least we are cyborgs, since a lot of our memory is held outside of our natural body now.

Sort:  

Aren't we getting hacked when we follow suggestion to act differently?

I like this interpretation. I'm intrigued by the future concept of us simply being biological machines that succumb to the same things. I mean, we did call computer viruses 'viruses' for a reason.

Robots, or perhaps zombies, from the drugs in the US are pretty terrifying, too. I'd consider those people hacked.

I have heard that people on LSD might argue this, as that location can be lost

Likely just one of the silly things the brain does on that stuff... worth me digging up some more about 'thinking location', as I recall people in ancient times believing their mind was in their heart's location (the centre of the body). It's possible it's just learned somehow?? Hmm.

I don't read philosophers either

I've read enough of your content to know you don't need 'em heh.