You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Alongside Prejudice

in Reflections11 months ago

I have a couple friends who speak Russian, but aren't native.

Prejudice, with four black children, I know a little. And my children know it more than myself, as they are part of what is called a "visible minority" (in North America).

I was talking to the wife of a friend a few years ago, a Canadian black woman. She was talking about how hard racism is in Canada and I asked her how many times she had been called "the N word" to her face. Zero. However, I would be called it daily through my primary school years - and I am not even that dark. The thing is, I was in a minority of one.

Racism is such a ridiculous mentality. The traits are so arbitrary and tell very little about an individual, other than some genetic markers for disease etc.