You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Odd One

in Reflections28 days ago

I have heard of different studies where people can go crazy without social interaction

I work with a lot of coders and engineers who are most likely on the spectrum, and many of them came back to the office after lockdowns, because they needed people - even just to sit next to. There is a comfort thing in it. There is also a reason that solitary confinement is considered a punishment.

Some even had multiple, and luckily, only needed minor therapy.

Are they young?
I didn't get any therapy help (I got some myself) from the healthcare system, because tested okay on the cognitive skills. However, there is a difference between being able to survive life, and being able to still do what is needed in a job role. Generally, the older people who have strokes have already retired, so they don't need the same level of cognitive function.

The brain is fascinating though, as in some instances it can divert traffic well, in others it can't. At least for part of mine, traffic wasn't diverted and the interesting thing is, that some people see this as my failure, like I didn't try hard enough to build new roads. But, it is like trying to grow a new leg after losing it in an accident.

Sort:  

Are they young?

Some are in their 40s, while the one that had multiple, had one in their 50s. I think there is a bit of luck to it as well. I know one who had multiple 'mini strokes' and they didn't even know. They just found out after an MRI years later.

I know one who had multiple 'mini strokes' and they didn't even know. They just found out after an MRI years later.

lol - that is lucky - or perhaps it speaks to their starting level ;D

Yeah, I think it was both. They also have a very high tolerance of pain, so that was the reason why they didn't realize. Might have thought it was just heart burn or something.