That's the Spot

in Reflections17 days ago

This morning when I arrived to work, the coffee machine on the floor I normally sit at (flexi spaces) was not working, as one of the pipes that drains excess liquid away keeps on getting blocked. It has been "fixed" a few times, but obviously whatever they have done, isn't working, which annoyed me.

Perhaps it was the lack of coffee.

image.png

But even after walking all the way to the first floor (taking the lift instead of the stairs), I was still annoyed. Which I think was more down to the day ahead, on top of the week behind. Due to a slight change in company positioning, there is a mountain of work on top of a mountain of work, and I have a mountain of work already jammed between the first mountain.

Fucking mountains.

The only real "good thing" to come out of it so far, is that despite the workload, I have been crushing it to the point that my supervisor has to mention it to other people. What we are doing in a very short timeframe is ambitious, and doing it on top of what we are already doing, is quite a stretch. And to actually be meeting some of the deadlines feels pretty good.

But, I think what feels the best about getting this done, is that in order to do so, I have to collaborate with a lot of people, and because of the timeline, be quite demanding of them. It isn't about telling people what to do though, it is more about helping them be able to do what they think they might not be able to do. And, it has been great to see people who were visibly under stress a few days ago, over delivering today with color in their face and pride in what they have done.

As I have said many times in the past - it isn't the amount of work that causes stress, it is how we think about the work. Even under a veritable mountain of work, if we believe we are able to manage it, we likely will find a way. Not only that, it helps a lot when there is someone there to help who believes that it is possible and is willing to get their hands dirty and stretch too.

In it together.

So much of life today is spent trying to belong to some group for identity sake, but most of these social movements are formed around some kind of victimization topic. And, as important as that is in some regards, it isn't overly inspiring. I don't know about you, but the percentage of people I know who are looking to be parts of high-performing groups that are looking to excel in an area that takes a lot of work and effort, is pretty narrow. They do exist, but are far rarer than those on the other side of the coin.

As I have mentioned before in regards to my opinions on empathy and compassion, I believe that rather than sitting in the group gutter lamenting life and all the missed opportunities together, it is more empowering to help people out of the gutter so that they can actively work together improving their position. What I have mentioned before is a work case, but I think that this is one of the attractions that people have with hobbies like CrossFit (which I have never tried), where it is time spent with a group of people trying hard to be better, and willing to help each other achieve those goals.

I also think that because we are living somewhat more individual lifestyles, and even when in the same household spending a lot more time apart immersed into a screen, the sense of in it together is further reduced, and it is a shame. For instance, the couples who are in this life together, seem to have far higher quality of experience than those who are individually succeeding, but not sharing wins.

For me, I have to do better at celebrating wins than I do, because I am the kind of person who overlooks my own and then moves to the next thing to do, with very little recognition of what was accomplished. As a result, I end up glossing over other people's wins also, and while not intentionally looking to minimize their successes, I inadvertently do so.

What a dick.

Well, bit by bit I am changing my approach back to where I was a decade ago in this regard, where I lived more by my philosophy of "a bit at a time, we can change the world". And, I do believe it, even if I don't have a lot of faith that we would be successful in improving it much.

But even a little bit is worth the effort...

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

Sort:  

I have a hard time with the whole collaboration thing. I have a feeling I probably am unwilling to do it more than I should. I think what bugs me the most is that people don't even try. If you try to do it and then you need help, I am more than happy to help. What we have is people who either don't try or they just think someone else is going to do it and when I get called in that's when I drag my feet on stuff. Maybe it's just because I am an old man. The sad thing is if you ask anyone they will probably tell you I am just generally unhelpful. When that is the furthest thing from the truth, but I can see how it looks that way.

What about with your wife, is that different?

I feel that one of the issues that ahs arisen from the "equality" drive, is that it has made people more individualistic, rather than a team with their partners.

The best organizations will carefully measure the distance between their workers and the carrot on the stick and the whip at their ass. If the carrot is still there to chase and the mountain of work is pushing them from behind, that is productivity! Until you run into increasingly more of the workforce who interpret the inconvenience of hard work as an overt assault on individual rights. I think organizations would do well to evolve their recruitment, onboarding and probation processes. Then fatten that carrot to pay those who will work more as the rarer breed.

Our generation was raised on "shut up work harder" and while that may not have been pleasant, we know how to put our shoulder to the wheel. Results will be undeniable and hopefully buy you more freedom and income. Otherwise, you will know to move on confidently.

So far so good!

I definitely agree with the carrot analogy and I think it is worse in the US and Australia, than here. There is somewhat better balance here, because there is also better job security. It doesn't mean people don't work, but they respect their time and aren't punished for doing so.

I really worry about where the future leads, based on what I have seen from Gen-Z so far.

I think boomers were worried the same about us and we turned out okay.....though we certainly did raise a generation of wet wipes huh? ;)

I am fairly certain that north america is more concerning than over there. Blows my mind that willingness to work and self-discipline sets you apart from the norm!

I am a one man band out here in this owner operator transportation business.

It seems most of the time when I rely on others it turns up short. So I do anything I can myself. To lessen the disappointments.

As for my life (and business) partner. She is great, we still enjoy each others company after 29 years and laugh often.

The screen time is an issue here with us also. TV, phone, pewter...

But Saturday I put my phoneh on charge at lunch time. 5 family stopped by that I have not seen in over a year. We visited and sat by the campfire and "drank a few, (beers) told a few, (lies) and I never once looked at a screen of any kind. The human interaction was fun and refreshing.

It seems most of the time when I rely on others it turns up short. So I do anything I can myself. To lessen the disappointments.

This was what I was like and what I am still like in personal life. What I have found at this company is that the incentives are generally pretty well aligned for people to put their effort in.

Human interaction is the cure for screen addiction. Spend time with good people in good conversation, and the phone disappears.

I woulda lost it without coffee too. Just bring the first floor machine up with you next time.

Burr is great.

You are in a good place, i need to trick my colleagues in order to collaborate and work together. When I am in the mood to work, that is!

What I like at my work is that in general, most people get their hands dirty, as well as put the effort in. The upper management work harder than most I have met.

Well, you see, this is what is making a difference, our managements is not like that. They are reluctant to 'join on the floor', sometimes.

Congrats on crushing your work. I think the amount of work is expected, especially if your boss believes in your ability to do them. I have seen some employees just be content to doing the bare minimum, and don't get promoted. I hope you get rewarded for your hard work.

I don't want a promotion - but some money some day would be great!

I think we could all use with a bit more money haha.

“It isn’t about telling people what to do, it’s about helping them do what they think they might not be able to do “. ——— Tarazkp

I never knew I had certain potentials until someone helped bring them out in me. Not many can do that though. But for those that know it like you said, bit by bit they can make the difference.

I remember when I was 20 or so, I was at the gym, bench pressing about 50 kilos. I was very sick and very skinny. This big guy came over to me and asked if he could spot me, and I said sure. He then said I could do more, took it to 60, and then encouraged me to go to 80 - that was the first time I benched 100 kilos.

I think, Mr. Taraz, that everyone, in their style forges their character, and work stress is our daily bread, it is a hormonal challenge...

It is always necessary to motivate ourselves and celebrate our victories. It depends on the area where you work the events are on a larger or smaller scale. So the effort is worth enjoying.

A lot of people are avoiding stress by reducing work, not increasing their skills.

Fucking mountains.

Isn't fascinating the life of a salaried mountaineer climber? ;D

I might have climbed Everest several times, while never leaving my desk ;)

As not a coffee-addicted person, I wouldn't mind it :)

Luckily, there are is another one with good coffee - the rest are crappy filtered coffee machines :)

I overlook my wins too and when I see what others do, I feel intimidated and feel like I’m not winning or doing anything at all. As time went on, I realized it does not make sense for me not to celebrate my wins so I became heavy on that.
Celebrating my wins does not mean I do a party when I win something or even get a glass of wine but I celebrate it in a little and my own way

It doesn't take much - just a clear acknowledgement of some kind that it was worth doing :)