You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Name Another Word

I like this. Since I have a rather common American name, I’ve been accepted? Perhaps even easily remembered, or forgotten depending on who the recipient or reader is. By contrast, my siblings received much more ethnic, distinguished names, which they report are often mispronounced and misspelled.

My sister for a period wanted to change her name to Monica to stand out less, and put to rest the teasing. She grew out of that phase, but I don’t appreciate the needless name calling. I think she’s stronger for it- and of course, with a healthy dose of reassurance we reminded her, people who only seem to comment on the differences all have a certain characteristic in common.

Dummies. Imagine me, Kyle. I like your name, and hope I say it right when I talk about you and read your work, Taraz.

Sort:  

I think she’s stronger for it-

And this is the thing. It creates a different experience, one that is more uncomfortable, but it raises questions and conversation. Even the horrible names. They want to get rid of bullies, as if the world will then be fine, but what they are doing is reducing our ability to be resilient and, build strategies to deal with difficult people.

I don't even know if I say my own name correctly :)