You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Behind the Eight

You make valid points each time bring the text to a post.

I understood where my father came from, complaining that my brother and sister use their phones so frequently. Can he really ask why they don’t learn to create an app?

I only mean to poke at his disposition to lament their lack of engagement, when in reality, I feel as though those curious questions weren’t encouraged for them at a time where they might be well down the rabbit hole in search of it.

Having a love of reading came from my youth as an only child for a period, the gift of a picture dictionary as a child, and long stays at the library waiting for my parents to return from work. Whereas their youth was characterized by new social media platforms and a public health crisis that kept them very insulated, I don’t see the need in berating them about how they’re not child tech prodigies.

If only the right ideas were encouraged at the right times, that would make them good and increase the chances they take hold. I’m always implying to family and friend, an idea’s only as good as its timing.