Reflection Lakes Sunset

in Picture A Day4 years ago

reflectionlakessunset.jpg

This is an entry to Amazing Nature Contest #03 run by @adalger

I took this photo yesterday. Mount Rainier is about a 2-hour drive from Seattle where I live. Since I work remote and get off early in the afternoon, I'm able to get to these locations just in time for sunsets (during longer summer days).

It kinda looked bleak as I was driving up on Highway 410 looking at the mountain which as all covered in clouds. However, driving for another hour to get to the other side showed some clearing in the skies for a colorful sunset.

Category Landscape
Exposure f/11 @24mm, ISO 100
Camera Sony A7III
Lens Sony FE 24-240mm
Filter Polarizer
Location Mount Rainier, Washington
Photographer Adonis @Always Wanderlust
Sort:  

It is nice when you have roads to use to get in position or close to the right place for the shot. Of course you still have to worry about the clouds shifting or build more and hope that does not happen. We just don't have the road options in Alaska that many have, it is drive and walk or hope and pray that some clouds stay and other go away.

I do like that shot, there is a lot to see in it and having that opening of sky bracketed by clouds does make for a wonderful shot and reflection.

 4 years ago  

I would love to live in Alaska for a year! If only I could convince my wife we'd be there in a heartbeat. Yes, having roads to access places fast definitely helps. The weather is catch-22, I often complain about how sunny it was in California (it makes for dull skies in photography) and yet here in Washington I complain it's often cloudy!

I wish I was more into photography 20 years ago, I was able to do the hiking, the walking and the camping back then in my 30's. It has gotten so much more difficult with age. There really are a lot of wonderful views in Alaska, it is just hard to get to some of them.

That's a great scenery there ^^ It looks so super peacefully ;)

 4 years ago  

It's an awesome place!

Tell me you sat there for a few hours just capturing this mesmerising view. Its a still i love, and its amazingnature, SHADOWHUNTERS , lovetheclouds and treetuesday in one picture, love it.
Have a great weekend

 4 years ago  

Well, as with chasing light and composition, I wish I could say I just sat there and for hours :) But, I literally ran around the lake hoping to get a moment where the wind wasn't blowing the waters for a reflection of the mountain while the skies are still reddish.