Neowise from the west.

in Picture A Day4 years ago

Neowise8548.jpg

I decided to visit the West of Ireland this week to visit my inlaws. Knowing that the Comet Neowise was in the sky I packed all my suitable equipment, but when evening came it took no more than some basic gear and a squinty eye.

It was hard to see at first with the naked eye, but once I found the big dipper in the sky, it was easily placed directly underneath.

So with that, I placed my camera in the general direction. Opened my 50 1.4 right up and set a shutter time of 10 sec, boosting my iso accordingly and I was lucky enough to capture the rare sight that won't be seen again for another 6,700 years!

Sort:  

Hi @g-race-c good job!!
I have some questions:

  • At what time you took this photo?
  • In which direction?

Because it's since some days that i can't see it.
That's my photo
!discovery 36

Hi @lallo. I took this about 11.30 pm GMT on the west coast of Ireland. It is visible in the northwest sky just above the horizon. If you can find the big dipper constellation, it should be just below that. It's quite hard to see at first but if you squint your eyes you should see it.

Hey @g-race-c just this night I managed to see her again!! Yuppy!!
Yes it's really very weak compared to a week ago.
I photographed it too in this post but it was 8 days ago, and you could see it with the naked eyes.
Thanks for your answer :)


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here