Freshly Made Baba Ganoush - Would you try this at home?

in Picture A Day2 years ago (edited)

Baba Ganousch.jpg

Hey guys! How are you all doing?!

I just made this Baba Gaboush dip about an hour ago, so it´s fresh. I had 3 eggplants and one I have reserved on th side so I could make this as a dip or spread. We love this at home and whenever I can, I make this from time to time. I learned to make this from a lebanese couple who had a bakery in Lagos, Nigeria. We live there as expats late 80s and she lady owner gave me a recipe which is actually very easy to make.

The main ingredient is an eggplant. With a fork, I pressed it on the skin of the eggplant to make strips all over this vegetable , then put it in the microwave and cooked for about 5 minutes until soft. Then poured cold water to remove the stripped skin. Removed the trunk and placed in a blender , added 2 tablespoons Tahini or sesame paste, juice of 1/2 lemon, salt and pepper and cumin powder. If you are making this, taste the spices if ok according to your preference. Arrange on a plate and pour a bit of olive oil on top . Now it is ready!

Image owned by @mers , photographed using Huawei pro Lite30


GIF by @Gremayo.gif
GIF by @gremayo

Sort:  

This is similar to a Muttabal in Arabia an eggplant dip sauce and was able to make some here in my place but the bread was not the usual kubhos it was a common loaf bread from Gardenia but it tastes so yummy👍

I can imagine that it tasted good.... I also like to eat this with the flat bread, I think it tastes more yummy when eaten with the arabian bread

yes it is but unfotunately we don't have available flat arabic bread in here

It is easy to make, the way the nomads do it very flat.... flour and water only.

That's a perfect lunch with Arabian bread.

Indeed, that is the right pasir of bread... I always have the turkish flat bread

Tita @Mers I saved this so I could make one tomorrow. My first time to know that eggplant can be a dip. I'm excited!!!

Oh yes, try it, top it with fresh parsley and if you arenot vegan, you can also top this with stir-fried ground beef.

I will try to do your recipe.

Posted using Dapplr

Thank you.... tell me your experience when making this.

All the time I do it . one of their favorite.

Posted using Dapplr

Good, the best with the Turkish flat bread.

Yes,we have it everyday.
!BEER

Thanks for the beer..


Hey @mers, here is a little bit of BEER from @olivia08 for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Thats seems similar to curry and haleem.
Looks delicious and tasty. 😋

It is delish ..you can try it.

Hmmm thanks for sharing ate @mers I wanna try this soon..

Yep darl, so easy to make and delish too!

Nice! I never knew eggplant can be a dip. This must be delicious Tita @mers 😋 thanks for sharing the recipe 💖

You are welcome..thank you for visiting!

Learned something new from you my friend. Will ask hubby (he's the cook😀) to try it.

Yeah, important is the sesame paste and the lemon juice.

This is different for me, im not aware that it can be used as dip..try this one ate 👍

This is interesting to try. If no oven can the eggplant be grilled?

Baba Ganoush I like it very much!