How much do we know about the CE COMMON ERA, the AD ANNO DOMINI ERA or AFTER CHRIST ERA?

in AFTER-CHRIST2 years ago

This is a sequel post to the article I wrote regarding Before Christ.


Today, I wanted to briefly outline a few events from world history going back to in or around 1 BC or 1 BCE. I'm not going to say exactly to 1 BC or exactly to 1 AD to the extent that different calendars may not align their years perfectly with other calendar systems as seen throughout history. In other words, I wanted to leave some room for possible and potential error.


Speaking of crazy, Wikipedia says the 2000s decade only had 9 years in it.


AFTER CHRIST

HUB | FIRST MILLENNIUM | SECOND MILLENNIUM | THIRD MILLENNIUM | ETC | WORLD HISTORY | GROUP | BEFORE CHRIST


MY NAME IS OATMEAL JOEY ARNOLD

ABOUT | CONTACT | FIND | GROUPS | SUPPORT | AUDIO | ARTICLES | PHOTOS | MUSIC | STORE | VIDEOS | WEBSITES | ETC




Vikings-Hd-Wallpaper.jpg


13 Vikings Wallpaper 4k For iPhone, Desktop and Android!


How much do we know about the CE COMMON ERA, the AD ANNO DOMINI ERA or AFTER CHRIST ERA?
Oatmeal Daily - 2022-01-07 - Friday | Published in January of 2022


BY OATMEAL JOEY ARNOLD

ACCOUNTS | GROUPS | LIBRARY | PEOPLE | PLACES | PRINCIPLES | ARCHIVE | FILES | GAMES | LINKS | MAPS | NEWS | TIMELINE | ETC


MEA OMNIA MEANS EVERYTHING

SEARCH | TOPICS | DIRECTORY | HISTORY | ARTS | EDUCATION | ENTERTAINMENT | GEOGRAPHY | HEALTH | LANGUAGE | LAW | LIFE | PLAY | POLITICS | RELIGION | SCIENCE | TECH | WORK | ETC




COMMON ERA OR ANNO DOMINI

Currently, as I'm writing this, I'm still contemplating whether I want to write Common Era (C.E. or CE) or Anno Domini (A.D. or AD) for talking about anything after Christ. Well, regardless of what I may decide, I may choose to mention the others from time to time. There are also different calendar systems that I may mention. As you study history, you will find different systems for measuring time, years, months, weeks, days, seasons, the moon, the sun, the stars, holidays, customs, etc. Well, I would imagine most people agree that a day is roughly 24 hours or that it depends on the relation an area of land has with the light of the sun.


BEING CONSISTENT

I want to be consistent when I'm writing to have a general rule as to what I call events from Before Christ and for events for After Christ. Exceptions can apply in some cases where it needs to be. It is said that some people were switching their calendars to other calendars in the 1700s AD. So, a few days or a few years may be missing in the sense that they went from one calendar system to another.


GROWING UP WITH AD

I was born in 1985 in Oregon, USA. As far as I knew, the common era was written as AD or ANNO DOMINI. I'm probably going to stick with using AD as my default way of addressing After Christ events. Well, beyond that, I generally omit AD because we all know that 2022 means 2022 AD or AD 2022 or 2022 CE. or CE 2022. The current year is 2022. The birth of the United States of America is 1776. Most of the time in the 1000s, as in these past thousand years globally, people would just write the year and that is. Well, as far as I can tell, they would or they would say something like "1776 IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD." Well, maybe I have that backwards, maybe they would say, to be technically and specific, "IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD, 1776." And I'm just using 1776 as an example of a date or a year because I already mentioned that year earlier.


STICKING WITH AD

In future writings, whenever I'm choosing not to just write the name of the year by itself, I'm probably going to stick with using AD to address events after Christ, that is events in the Common Era. I sometimes write AD when I want to clarify that it is AD and not BC. I think I am going to continue using BC instead of BCE. In this article, I'm not going to talk about the different calendar systems that may dictate what year something might be. Instead, I'm just going to list a few events as follows regarding the last two thousand or so years going back to the birth of Christ give or take ten years or whatever the case might be. We probably need some wiggle room to the extent we may not exactly when Jesus was born. But that does not mean we don't know when Christ was born. What I'm saying is it is possible we may not know exactly when Christ was born. So, I believe in having some room for error. Some believe Christ was born around 5 BC. So, Christ was probably born after 10 BC and before 10 AD. There is my 20 years of wiggle room, room for error. The After Christ or the Common Era begins roughly around the birth of Christ.


SHOULD I USE AD OR CE OR WHAT?

Let me know if you think I should use AD or CE or something else for the common era. In this article, I'm using mostly AD. I want to come up with one way to do it as opposed to being indecisive on the matter. I'm still stuck on AD. I see Wikipedia using CE. Part of me wants to conform to Wikipedia. Part of me wants to keep the tradition of AD alive.


OTHER TIMELINES

I probably shouldn't get lost in parallel timelines, dimensions, universes, etc. Do other dimensions exist? I don't know. But the purpose of this outline is to focus on our reality regarding things we know relating to our own universe. Also, this is not my official article on the common era. I would like to publish a future post that better outlines this common era dealing with anything after the birth of Christ. For now, I'm just going to publish this small article here.


VULGAR ERA

Before the 1900s, vulgar meant common or ordinary. Anno Domini (AD) was synonymous with the Dionysian era, Christian era, and the Vulgar era. The new kid on the block is Common Era (CE).


YEAR ZERO

There was no Year Zero in the Gregorian or Julian calendars. However, there is a virtual Year Zero calibrated within the Astronomical Year Number System and the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) 8601 System. All you have to do is translate 1 BC into 0 AD and 2 BC into negative one. In the end, you could say the first century BC started in 101 BC. You have 2 main options. You either do that or you will have to say the second century AD started in 101 AD. I prefer to mess with the BC dates as opposed to saying the 1990s as a decade started in 1991. That is retarded. But there are tons of articles on the Internet stating that it is retarded not to think of 1990 as part of the 1980s. Like, why would we want to think of 1990 as the last year of the 1980s? Besides, we call it the 1980s and not the 1981s.


FOUR CHAPTERS

The Common Era of Christ, the Anno Domini period of time, anything at and after the birth of Christ, can be broken down into four chapters or parts as follows: chapter 01, 0001 BC - 0999 AD, chapter 02, 1000 AD - 1999 AD, chapter 03, 2000 - 2999 AD, and chapter 04, 3000 AD - the end of time and beyond.


0001 BC - 0999 AD

The first chapter deals with the first millennium through to the end of 999 AD. 1 2


Birth of Christ may have been as early as 7 BC.


The European Classical Era went from the 8th century BC to the 6th century AD. Both Greek and Roman societies were flourishing through parts of Europe, Asia, and Africa.


Buddhism was spreading across Asia during the first two centuries AD.


In the Americas, during the Classic Era (200-900 AD), Teotihuacan grew into a metropolis and its empire dominated Mesoamerica.


681-1018 AD - The First Bulgarian Empire.


793-1066 AD - The rise of Viking Age.


There appears to be different tribes, kingdoms, villages, empires, cities, etc, all over the world during the first millennium AD. Greek had an empire. Rome had a republic which turned into an empire. Those two may have been the largest empires during this time period in world history. Many places around the world were influenced by the larger empires. Some of those places would probably trade and do business with the empires sometimes. But at the same time, perhaps some of the places were isolated from the rest of the world either completely or more so than other places.


1000 AD - 1999 AD

The second chapter deals with the second millennium through to the end of 1999 AD. 1 2


786-1258 AD - The Islamic Golden Age. The biggest city around that time was Baghdad. The Middle Ages. Maya civilization. Ottoman Empire. Spanish Empire. British Empire. Russian Empire. Qing dynasty. United States of America.


2000 AD - 2999 AD

The third chapter deals with the third millennium through to the end of 2999 AD. 1 2


3 buildings fell in NYC on the 11th of September of 2001. Covid was used to take over the world.


3000 AD - xxxx AD

The fourth chapter deals with the fourth millennium through to the end of time itself. 1


Where will we be in a thousand years from now?

Sort:  

I probably shouldn't get lost in parallel timelines, dimensions, universes, etc. Do other dimensions exist? I don't know. But the purpose of this outline is to focus on our reality regarding things we know relating to our own universe. Also, this is not my official article on the common era. I would like to publish a future post that better outlines this common era dealing with anything after the birth of Christ. For now, I'm just going to publish this small article here.

@joeyarnoldvn, Do you believe in parallel universe theory? Do you think there are other dimensions? There is no parallel universe theory in the Bible. I think that the fact that God created worlds in another dimension is a claim that denies the Bible.
Parallel cosmology is a polytheistic idea that denies the biblical belief that there is one God.

 2 years ago  

I do not know if the Bible says there are no parallel dimensions, etc. I believe in not getting lost in thinking about it. I do not personally believe in some of these things or all of these things. We are talking about different things.


But there are different dimensions. For example, one dimension is length. Another dimension is width. A third dimension is height. So, we live in those three dimensions or 3-D. Some believe time is the 4th dimension and it might be. Some believe there may be around 11 dimensions in total. I don't know how many there are. But we can see and count three dimensions. But there may be higher dimensions. There may be lower dimensions we do not know about.


If there is one God, then that one God could still be God of an infinite amount of universes or timelines or whatever else. I don't believe that there is other versions of me in another timeline or universe. But I also believe anything is possible. I have strong beliefs regarding why I would not want to believe in parallel timelines.


But I don't think the Bible says God can't do it. Instead, the Bible doesn't talk specifically about everything. It seems that the Bible is simply focused on humans on earth. That doesn't mean there are no aliens on other planets or other places. I don't know what I don't know. So, I'm not going to say that I know what I do not know because I don't know what I don't know. It's that simple. Therefore, I should focus on what I do know and not get too lost on the theories of what I don't know.

I watched all serial of viking, bravo....

 2 years ago  

I enjoyed the Vikings series too.