Two Beautiful Moths in the Sumatra Rainforest

When you go on a journey to explore nature, you'll often find a lot of new things. In reality, these things aren't new; you just haven't seen them before.

I just went for a nature walk in North Aceh's Saweuk forest park. I discovered a moth perched on a leaf there. I had never seen a moth like that before, but it was strangely beautiful.

IMG_20220813_145519.jpg

IMG_20220813_145630.jpg

IMG_20220813_145706_1.jpg

Thanks to a Google search, I knew it was a clearwing moth (Synanthedon sp.) right away. The moth is black with hints of copper yellow, metallic green, and blue. It has clear, transparent wings, and the tips of its hind legs are hairy; it's a lovely sight to see this part.


IMG_20220813_135749.jpg

I moreover noticed a white tussock moth (Euproctis sp.) dozing off on a leaf. You might be wondering what makes me so certain that it is dozing off. I can respond to that; to the best of my knowledge, this sort of moth is a nocturnal insect.

IMG_20220813_135628.jpg

IMG_20220813_135823.jpg

IMG_20220813_135913.jpg

IMG_20220813_135950.jpg

It's a really cute moth. For fear of waking it up, I took great care when taking photos.


All of the images here are my own work, taken with Xiaomi POCO NFC smartphone and an assembled external macro lens.

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @akukamaruzzaman ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I've never seen a moth like that, l would have thought it was a fly or wasp with those clear wings. Interesting.

Thanks @kaazoom. Yeah, when I first saw this, I was astonished. Apparently, there is an insect as beautiful as this in the wild.

Both moths are cool, but the first one is absolutely glamorous. 🙂Never saw that one in the books or on the Internet. What an interesting species. Photographs are also great.

Thanks @borjan. That's right; I was having problems finding the precise scientific name. Despite my persistent Google searches.

Lovely to see other species , wel captured and thanks for sharing

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @stresskiller.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you so much :)

We appreciate your work and your post has been manually curated by zoology team (oscurity,nelinoeva) on behalf of Amazing Nature Community. Keep up the good work!

wow! I think it's the first time I've seen an insect with that ornament in the community! the photos were fantastic! you are always welcome!

A big thank you to @oscarity, @nelinoeva, and the zoology team of Amazing Nature.

Hello @akukamaruzzaman!

amazing post!
We appreciate your work and your post was manually curated by @none! from the DNA team!

Reach us on Discord to learn more about the project!

Thank you so much @dna.org and @none.

You captured it beautifully. And they are all amazing. Thanks for sharing it @akukamaruzzaman. God bless your journey always as explore the nature. Keep up the good work. 😉

I appreciate your kind words, @jonalyn2020. Also, may God bless you.😊

Genus ngengat yang langka dan unik, belum pernah saya lihat sebelumnya.

Yang beutoi neupeugah? Hahaha. Bak awak droneuh sang meutabei atra njou, khekhe

Nyo bit yang foto phon. Meunyo yg puteh nyan meusiprek.. hehe