You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Allotment Diaries: 20th April 2022 - Pond-dipping

This is so cool! And illustrates beautifully how surprising nature can be when you spend time in it and go looking. You find the weirdest and most amazing animals hiding in plain sight. I experience a similar discovery each time I go spider collecting, though I only record the spiders I find. But I do a lot of new (to me) insects as well and there have been a time or two where I found them so fascinating that I spent days trying to figure out what insect it is and learn about them. A little tricky because here in South Africa, our biodiversity isn't as well recorded (I come across this issue so much with spiders) and there are a lot of undescribed animals. But it's worth it. Just learning about a new creature makes me feel more a part of this world, more grounded. Thanks for sharing this with us and I hope it inspires more people to do something like this as well.