Amazing Nature Snapping Turtle

My entry for the
#AmazingNature Contest
hosted by @adalger

~ Common Snapping Turtle~
Last week I stopped and waited for this big Snapping Turtle to cross my road before I could continue on driving and not risk running over it.
My long driveway is narrow and is very close to a large marsh/swamp.
I'm sure this is an older male. They get much larger than females.

20200908_082643.jpg
(Chelydra serpentina)

I have seen many big Snapping Turtles over the years.
Their jaws are very powerful and sharp. They will snap at you in self defense if provoked and threatened.

20200909_162909.jpg

They are never impressed when I get this close. I haven't had one snap out at me yet but they do make a strange audible noise clearly warning me they are not happy and feel threatened.
The message is clear...back away !!

20200908_082325.jpg

Snapping turtles are omnivores.
A few examples of what they like to eat. Aquatic plants, vegetation, crustaceans, bugs, frogs, small rodents and ducks.

20200908_082905.jpg

They are most vulnerable when they are small hatchlings.
As they mature and develope bigger in size they have few natural predators. I can totally understand why.
Moving vehicles are the biggest threat when they are crossing busy roads. Not just the Snapping turtles but all other turtles too.

20200908_082643.jpg

In the wild snapping turtles are estimated to live up to 30-40 years.
The common snapping turtle ranges in size from 8 to 14 in (20-36cm)
Their average weights range from 10 to 35 lbs (4.5 - 16 kg)
They can surpass the average
size and weight. I truly do know that from my own personal sightings.

20180423_200804.jpg

The above and below photo I took a couple of years ago. It's the biggest one I've seen so far.
This one too was crossing my road.

20180423_170927.jpg

Snapping Turtles have been around for millions of years.
When I get close to one, especially the big ones they really are absolutely amazing.
I can truly sense the Prehistoric vibes.

Photography by
@annephilbrick
🍃🍃

😊🐢
Link for more information on the
Amazing Nature Contest.
https://hive.blog/hive-127788/@adalger/amazing-nature-contest-septermber-2020-01

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 22 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
5

🌞🤗🐢
Thank You..!!!!!!!
@pixresteemer
:-D

I have picked your post for my daily hive voting initiative, Keep it up and Hive On!!

🌞🐢
Thank You..!!
@chitty
Greatly appreciated.
:-D

What a beauty, they make goid pets if you tame them from a hatchling

 4 years ago  

Wow that's a huge one .. I would not dare to get to close to them, hehe ^^


Hey @annephilbrick, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Woooow amazing shots and beautiful big turtle! I really like them😁🐢 Greetings @annephilbrick

🤗🐢
Hello..!!!
@juanbg
Thank You 🌞 !
I'm most glad you liked the pictures of the Snapping Turtle. They really are amazing.
:-D