You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Golden dewdrop / Duranta erecta Linn

in Amazing Naturelast year (edited)

@chaodietas, while I was reading, I thought of cape gooseberry because of its resemblance and I was amazed by what you say that it can be lethal. Thanks for sharing this information, it is a way to recognize and differentiate these fruits that look alike. Here in Bogota I tried cape gooseberry and I loved it, it is one of my daily fruits. Greetings, a hug.

Sort:  

Hi @aurodivys,

My husband loves this fruit. He can eat a pound in one sitting. For this reason when I saw the fruit on the bush, I mistakenly thought I had gotten cape gooseberry from the wild. Good thing I don't like to pluck leaves or fruit from trees because I would have been in for a nasty surprise. The pointed end made me look up the shrub on Google Lens and I found that my find was Duranta erecta.

Thanks so much for stopping by! Blessings.