Sort:  

Cheers Brian, I just try to react to what appears in front of me. Some of the insects can be flippin' awkward and fidgety but sometimes they behave and let me take a nice picture of them 🤣

Do you use a ring flash, or are they all shot with purely whatever ambient light is available?

I've tried using ring flash, but I find that its quite obvious that flash is being used, which is a huge 'turn-off' for me. It has its place in woodland (cos its so gloomy in there) and also at night, but generally I try to avoid it.

Besides, in the middle of a meadow in summer, its usually a case of too much light haha. I could do with one of those defuser panels (using the middle part one of those 5in1 things) to hold between the sun and the subject to soften the light. But that requires planning ahead (and preferably a third hand to hold the damn thing!) 😅

The plus side of bright sunlight means I'm able to use a really high shutter speed, which helps to keep things sharp