We Are Finally A Fiddle-Leaf Fig Family

FiddleLeafFigFamily981359679845698.png

Happy Friday Friends! We Are Finally A Fiddle-Leaf Fig Family!!!

Wow that’s a lot of F’s for an opening statement. And I guess you figured it out by now that a fiddle leaf fig tree has become part of our family. My wife is thrilled about it because she’s wanted one for God knows how long, I’m on the fence because I have no idea how to take care of this thing, and Molly… Well Molly remains silent and keeps her distance.


Finding a Fiddle-Leaf Fig ..

I really have to stop with the F words.
I’m not talking about my language but my use of words starting with F in the titles of my paragraphs. Lol. I guess it could be worse, I could have a foul mouth. No surprise here, we found the Fiddle-Leaf Fig at a local store in their garden center. They happen to be on sale and my wife has been looking at them for a while, so this one came home with us. All the plants at the store looked alike, but were different in their own little ways. It was a tough decision and we spent a good 20 minutes figuring out exactly which one would be coming home with us.

3B958170-57BE-46D7-AD08-9114394EDA5D.jpeg

We made a decision, grabbed this particular plant, paid for it, and brought it home with us to stay.
I’m not thinking they’ll be very much going on with this plant that will make it interesting enough to blog about, except for this one time, but you never know. For now the big decisions was where to place the plant and what pot to use. Obviously the plastic flimsy pot that it came with is not going to cut it. This plant is so tall and bulky that it needs a nice heavy pot to hold it firmly to the ground. I don’t think Molly could take another house plant falling over during the day while we are out. That may just be the straw that breaks the camels back and puts her 6 feet under, and we don’t want that!

A489B300-E12F-4651-87EB-0C158FD45678.jpeg

I had a few extra pots out in the shed, so I made my way out there and found one with some old potting soil still in it.
This is a good thing because I forgot to pick up a new bag of potting soil while we were at the store. Everything worked out, and I was able to repot this Fiddle-Leaf Fig tree and give it a better chance at surviving. The roots were a little bit root bound, but I was able to separate them, allowing them to grow outward rather than around the bottom of the plastic pot that it had been growing in for probably years.

5DC7978D-9121-4446-A217-BF79938DCFB8.jpeg

Most of our house plants are grouped together at the back of the house near the sliding glass door just off the kitchen.
This area has southern exposure and a nice bit of bright sun during the morning hours. Fiddle-Leaf Fig plants love bright sun so this will work out perfectly. They also like direct sun so it will get a bit of that for a few hours in the morning. We’ll see how it works out and if we have to move it we'll move it.

87872D33-912C-49E6-9686-9F7E54A65A57.jpeg

It’s been about a month since we had purchased the plant. (I know I’m just getting around to writing about it now. Sorry about that!)
Anyhow I’ve had a month or so to get used to a new plant in our living space. I love the texture of this plant. It’s large veiny leaves, fat stalks, and deep green colors, are quite different than the rest of our plants. It’s bold looks add a refreshing visual change to our typical houseplant environment. If that makes any sense.

E9A510ED-B57C-4016-9222-024EE6B57552.jpeg

I see a handful of other stems pushing up through the soil, So maybe this will be a nice multi stem plant someday.
I see some of the varieties online have a branched out style, but I am not sure if this one will do that or not. It won’t matter much if there are other stems emerging from the soil, because that will fill out the plant in the future. I have limited information on the actual variety of Fiddle-leaf fig this is because the store tags don’t come with much information on them.

4E4C2CAC-765C-438F-B6C5-CB62CFA5749A.jpeg

Who Knows.

But I Do Know This Much.. We are now a Fiddle-Leaf Fig Family, so we will FIGURE it out together!

One more 'F' word doesn’t hurt.

F9E0F140-49AC-4581-A7FE-7CCBB828B57B.jpeg

Hive text divider.png

“I may not always be with you
But when we're far apart
Remember you will be with me
Right inside my heart”

― Marc Wambolt, Poems from the Heart

120 (2).JPG

“You must remember, family is often born of blood, but it doesn't depend on blood. Nor is it exclusive of friendship. Family members can be your best friends, you know. And best friends, whether or not they are related to you, can be your family.”
― Trenton Lee Stewart, The Mysterious Benedict Society

Hive text divider.png

text16.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

text16.png

Hive text divider.png

The Orchid Lovers Community!

Love Orchids? Consider joining our community. We look forward to seeing you there!!!

The Orchid Lovers Community

A place for people who Love Orchids!

Hive text divider.png

My NFT Art Pieces Can Be Found on NFT Showroom


1-0982136.JPG

Sort:  

You definitely like your alliteration don't you? That looks like a pretty cool plant. Are you going to have to re-pot it occasionally or at least move it so the roots don't get rotten? It seems like you would need holes in the bottom of the pot, but then your water would get all over the floor. See how little I know about plants!

Haha.. Yeah I like the use of same letter words. So do you and that's why I wrote it like that! just kidding. I do like the flow off the tongue.. either way it's fun.

Not 100% sure how often this will need repotted. My hopes are not often, but we'll see. This pot has a hole in the bottom and if you look close, I am using a plastic top to maybe a cookie or veggie tray. I couldn't find a large water catcher around the house, so this does the trick for now! I hope I'm not the only goof that repurposes weird stuff like that. hehehe.

I like houseplants. You only need to water every 5 days. And not too much light for my snake plant. It also easy to grow extra !

Easy to care for houseplants are a blessing.. some do not have the time or patience to care for the more delicate ones. lol. Snake plants are cool!

Hmmm... I'm afraid to venture into large plants inside the house!
But why not!!!

Yes.. I hear you. The bigger they are, the harder they .. Are to take care of... Did you think I was going to say fall? The harder they fall? lol. It may fall over too if I'm not careful 😆

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Curated by Blessed-girl

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Enhorabuena, su "post" ha sido "up-voted" por @dsc-r2cornell, que es la "cuenta curating" de la Comunidad de la Discordia de @R2cornell.

Why thank you! Thanks for the support 😊